Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:02 a.m. - 2005-08-30
Fears and meat
First day of school today, and I was surprised at how nervous Andy was. He had heard (as had many of us) that his new teacher was a yeller. So he's been mulling this on and off over the summer. Fortunately, several kids from his second grade class were also assigned to this teacher, so there are many familiar faces. We went to see his class yesterday, hot and humid, but empty except for chairs, nametags and a letter from the previous occupants of the desks. I thought that was pretty cool that his new teacher had had her previous class write to the next group of third graders.

He is so like his father and me - we hate change that we cannot control.

So we walked him to school, and he wanted me to walk him to his class (which was not allowed) but he has charmed all of the administration staff, so they let me take a quick walk in and back out. Andy didn't even kiss me goodbye, but we did get to meet his teacher and introduce ourselves. I'm sure he'll konk out tonight. Last night he had a stomach ache, a headache, and he couldn't sleep. Nervous a little? And, in yet another genetic link to his mother, he told me he thought he might have appendicitus because his head hurt. I assured him he did not. (We had been discussing appendicitus because his friend's uncle had it over the weekend.) He also confessed that he was afraid they were going to have a fire drill today, and I told him I didn't think that they would on the first day, especially if it is raining. That comforted him some, but he felt bad that he was still afraid of the fire alarms now that he was in third grade. Well...everything is a metaphor isn't it.

So a new school year, new shoes, overstuffed bookbags, lots of knobby knees and elbows and pony tails. There is such a difference in size between the first graders and the fifth graders. Andy is entering the third grade able to ride a bike without training wheels, able to tie his shoes (finally, since we bought him a pair with laces this year) and able to name his fears. Good for him.

It is drizzly and hot today, my hair is taking up a larger space than usual in the universe. Unfortunately, my brain is not.

Last night I made a pork roast (still cleaning out the chest freezer) with sage and rosemary; mushroom risotto, baked zucchini with bread crumbs and cheese, and asparagus. It was tasty.

We are now done with the roast meat part of this week. Tonight (if we feel like eating at all) it will be BLTs. Must remember to get L today on the way home from work.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!