Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:57 p.m. - 2005-08-25
Vinegar and chicken

Andy fell off his bike yesterday and hurt his wrist. At first we thought it might be broken, but it seems just bruised, and he is fine, moving it around, but every now and then he wants some attention. Of course, he had on knee pads and a helmet, but he fell and braced himself with his wrists and hit a rock.

Last night I made a Rachel Ray recipe - breasts of chicken - salt and pepper the meat, sautee over medium heat in olive oil - 5 minutes on each side. Don't poke or pick them up, and they will crust nicely and turn golden brown and not stick to the pan. Take out the breasts, cover them with foil and set aside. Add about a quarter cup of vinegar to the pan and get all the brown bits up, add a half cup of water and a table spoon of tomato paste and stir until pan is clean of bits and the tomato is dissolved into the water/vinegar mixture. Add a half cup of cream or half and half or a third cup of sour cream. Add slowly, or the cream will break and you'll get a tweedy looking sauce. Add a tablespoon of fresh chopped tarragon (or a half tablespoon of dried tarragon) and mix. (NOTE: I added a bit of chopped onion and garlic to the pan before I added the vinegar. Gotta have garlic.) Cut the chicken into slices and place on top of rice. (RR uses a wild rice mixture with walnuts. I HATE wild rice, so I used plain.) Spoon sauce onto chicken.

Even Andy liked it and it was pretty easy.

Tonight Andy and I have a dinner date - spouse has to do a work thang, so I'm letting Andy pick where we go to dine (but NOT bk or mcd.) Should be interesting.

Work continues its craziness. I have to check in on my parents to make sure they aren't getting battered by this next hurricane. Can't believe we're already up to the Ks! My brother, his wife and my niece and nephew are visiting before they go on a week long cruise. I'm jealous!!!

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!