Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:45 a.m. - 2005-08-15
Scrap and sweat
So. The weekend.

Got home Friday night with my spider roll sushi and an enormous glass of ice water. Did some wash, can't even remember what I watched on the tee vee, got my scrapbooking stuff together, packed spouse's car for the trek to scout camp; packed my car for the trek to the scrapbooking thang.

I scrapped for a few hours Saturday morning, then came home to find out the people who were hitching a ride to camp with me werre bailing because it was so horribly hot. It was 99 degrees with massive amounts of humidity. So I made the trip to camp alone and found a sweaty spouse and Andy who had a fabulous time.

By the time the "family" tour was scheduled, almost everyone had left camp early to go home to air conditioning. We stayed of course to watch the skits and the final campfire. I loaded the car, and nearly passed out from the heat, so I skipped dinner. It was so fabulous to get back in the car and feel that AC. We stopped for root beer floats on the way home, and marvelled at how wonderful it was not to be sweating. I don't know how spouse and Andy did it.

Sunday, got up early and went to church, but I let Andy sleep in - he was exhausted. Then I did 9 loads of wash (not including the four enormous spiders that came home from camp with the towels) and continued my year-long excavation of the dining room table. I'm almost done. Really. Spoke to my floradorra brother and that was nice.

Am I the only one who is ready for the heat to be over? I like the pace of summer, but I feel the need for the routine. Like summer is just a bit over-ripe. I know I'll be complaining in September once all things summery are winding down. I am a pill.

Can I just say how relieved I am that Six feet under is winding down? I don't know if I can take much more angst. I don't want any more reminders of how fragile and fleeting life is. I just don't.

Massively huge thunderstorms last night. Fortunately, Andy slept through most of them.

On to the routine....

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!