Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:38 a.m. - 2005-07-25
Weekend re-cap
I am in such a strange place right now. First, I've been feeling all wanky because of work (a situation of my own making.) Second, I still have the post-vacation blues, which apparently has also been transmitted to Andy, because last night he came down stairs after we put him to bed, and he kept saying "I'm sad, and I don't know why..." and then sobbing. I am kinda freaked, although I remember my first depression when I was about his age, and had, in fact, discussed it with spouse and my mother just last week, since our family treasure/heritage includes bouts with depression on both sides of the family. We cuddled and talked and tried to see if he could think of why he might feel sad, and he agreed that it was because he missed his grandparents (my parents) and his cousins and aunts and uncle. He said first he felt a "freckle" better, and then about an inch better. I also think he is still over-tired. So this morning, Andy and spouse were still asleep when I left for work, and Andy just called and without prompting, said he felt much, much better. Whew. I felt so awful when I couldn't make him feel better last night - when the cuddling and talking wasn't sufficient. I don't want him to learn that lesson yet. I am not ready.

Yah, so this weekend. Friday I got home, we had home-made pizza with whole wheat crust and reduced fat cheese. We are freaks. But it was tasty. Then we all piled into our big bed and watched "Finding Nemo." Actually spouse and Andy watched, I was asleep by 8:30. Saturday morning, I got up early, went to the store that had lobstah on sale and got three small ones and asked them to cook them. Finished the grocery shopping, brought the lobster home and chilled it, and then headed to the in-laws. I do not heart my in-laws.

MIL has an infected tooth/jaw and was in pain and in a bad mood. FIL still wanted us to take him out to lunch, which we did. I asked if he wanted to bring anything back for MIL so that she wouldn't have to cook, and he would not permit it. "She has an infected tooth..." he snarled, as if I didn't know. I didn't let him get away with it - "I know. But you'll still want dinner tonight, and she said she had a bit of an appetite." We picked up the check, it wouldn't have costs him anything, but he had to be right, even if it meant denying his wife a treat. I am trying to turn the other cheek. I am trying to be respectful because of spouse and Andy, but I cannot stand FIL's whole self-centered self.

Left the in-laws, stopped home, threw on some more wash, and went to church. After church, we went to my friend's family birthday dinner. They sort of asked us to be guardians for their three girls, which would be fine, because we adore them, and they love us. We brought hors d'oeuvres - some WW, some not - hummus, baba ganouj, pita bread, olives, crudites and non-fat dip and some low-fat spreadable cheese and crackers. I don't think she liked her gift - a night shirt from our favorite department store, and a silver key chain in the shape of a shoe. Oh well. I LOVE the night shirts and own 7 of them, but what are you going to do. She is fussy some times.

Sunday was errand day, and I made a yummy lobster salad with corn, basil, vidalia onion, grape tomatoes and a dressing of lemon juice, rice wine vinegar, garlic, shallots and olive oil. Very yummy and cooling.

And can I just say...Six Feet Under? Oh. My. God. And then they don't even give us a preview. It was a set up for some very wierd dreams for me last night.

Right now, I don't really want reminders that life is hard alot of the time.


a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!