Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:47 a.m. - 2005-07-20
Stale today

Oh how I hate the post vacation melancholy. It does not help that I am still exhausted from getting only four hours sleep the night we got in, and that I came back to a mess at work of my own making. I must stop beating myself up.

I had such purpose before vacation - packing things, making lists, crossing things off the list as they got done, etc. Now the house feels a bit vague and u nfamiliar; my routine is disrupted, and they've changed the format of the comics in my newspaper. I am beside myself.

I am however, back on program and lost three pounds of the maybe 7 that I gained on vacation. Yesterday, spouse made a qhick grocery run, so he picked up bluefish and that's what we had for dinner along with roasted corn and spinach with garlic. Yum.

Andy spent the afternoon with his best friend, then went to karate and had dinner with his friend. We picked him up and attempted to head to bed around 9:15, but I was diverted by the supreme court announcement, the movie "The Great Escape" and a phone call from a friend.

Here's what I think about the supreme court announcement: Why do we have another white male?

Which is why my friend called last night - I hadn't heard from her in a few months - she lives many states away - and she knew exactly what I'd say when I saw the announcement. We chatted briefly - she is deciding whether to take a TA position at a university and get her master's degree. I wrote a letter of recommendation for her last year when she was initially interested, but this is a woman who has never worked a 40-hour week, and she is in her mid 50s.

Did I say that spouse and I had a little shopping marathon while we were on vacation? I got four shirts, a blazer and two new jammies (all on sale.) Spouse got five shirts, three ties, three pairs of socks, two pairs of pants and was lobbying for a new sport coat. Yesterday I found out my little addict husband went to the outlet mall and got another shirt and tie. He is out of control. It pissed me off a bit because we have to start paying the bills now, but...

It is still very hot and humid. Don't know when we'll get a break in the weather.

I am ungrateful, I know - I just had a great vacation, but I need something to look forward to.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!