Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:30 a.m. - 2005-07-18
Jiggity Jig

We're finishing up packing - no small feat after two weeks away. I've started the new Harry Potter book, and we're going home with an extra suitcase because we went to a Nordstrom's sale on Friday and got some great stuff. I also got three holiday gifts!

I am a little worried about my parents. They are both pretty stubborn and seem to be in a rough patch marriage-wise. Nothing like infidelity or anything, just the usual, old married couple stuff - he does things he knows annoys her - she does stuff she knows annoys him. It makes me sad. They've been married nearly 50 years, and my Dad just turned 70, so they (I pray) have a good chunk of time left. They've done couple's therapy before, and once even dragged me into it; so maybe they need a check up. I know it is THEIR marriage, and their issue, and I doubt that they will split up, but I hate to see them both unhappy.

Spouse and Andy just left for the pool for a final swim for this trip. We went yesterday morning early, and had the pool to ourselves. Then we went to the cemetery to put flowers on my grandparents' grave (my mother's parents.) I've been feeling that my Nana was nagging me to acknowledge her in some visible way - she enjoyed that sort of thing during her life, though for the most part she was pretty humble and insecure. So we got silk pansies (her favorite flower) and some red and white carnations (his favorite flower) and left them there. This cemetery does not allow real flowers. How odd!

After that, we met my brother and his girlfriend for dinner on the beach - great restaurant, interesting ambiance - and had a nice, if brief visit.

Came home, Andy had yet another hour-long bath in my parents' enormous tub (that was three yesterday, plus a dip in the pool!) and caught up on Six Feet Under.

It has been a good vacation. Today I feel like I have on a coat that is a bit too heavy as I get ready to go home. We get in after midnight and I have to be at work for a 7:30 meeting. I will no doubt, be complaining tomorrow.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!