Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:32 a.m. - 2005-06-01
Thanks to Andy's teacher!

Andy's teacher just called me at work - everything's fine, but Friday is "Family Day" for Andy's second grade, and I will be in D.C. presenting a paper, and missing it. AAAUGH! Andy has known for quite some time, and has been disappointed. Of course, spouse will be there. I had written a note to his teacher and she:

1. Let me be the chaperone for next week's trip to a nature preserve

2. Suggested I write a note at the end of Andy's "Family Book" that he'll read on Friday.

3. Said she would make a video that I could watch next week of all the festivities.

I adore this woman. She has been a great teacher, not letting Andy get away with being lazy, and so many people do because he is well behaved and polite. But she challenges him to do more, and he has done it. We are so fortunate to have Andy in her classroom!

Anyway, she's sending home Andy's family book, so I'll get to see it tonight and write the note in it, and it will be a big surprise for him on Friday! Spouse will pick it up this afternoon.

I have a meeting every two hours today. Ick.

Last night I made ziti (Andy's request) with home-made sauce - I used the tomato salad I made on the weekend (tomatoes, basil, shallot, garlic, parsley, a bit of vidalia onion and a splash of olive oil and balsamic vinegar) and simmered it with a can of tomatoes until it was rich and thick. I put the leftover chicken sausages we had grilled this weekend into the sauce to reheat them, and steamed some broccoli with sliced garlic and grated romano cheese. Yummy. I packaged the leftovers for spouse and Andy so they won't have to cook too much while I'm gone Thursday and Friday.

Sadly, we finished the last piece of ice box cake.

Time for a meeting. But first, a moment of gratitude to Andy's teacher!


a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!