Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:53 a.m. - 2005-05-31
SUCHANICEWEEKEND!

Oh how we miss the weekend already! Had a really nice family, all-American time. Friday I had meetings offsite, then came home and made dinner. Andy, spouse and I watched a disney movie and had a pj party. Saturday we had to go see the in-laws who are just getting worse. MIL had asked me to find some insect repellent wipes last year, and we did. So this year when I saw some, I bought them for her. When we gave them to her she said they were the wrong kind. Okay. FIL was grousing because the ramps and the stair lift that he is going to get for free from a charity is not coming fast enough. He has been perfectly content to sit on his sofa in front of his large screen television for the last nine months, not willing to make changes to the house because he would have to pay for them, and now it is not happening fast enough. I know - I cannot imagine being immobile. He must be in pain, but really couldn't he be a bit more mature about it? HE DOESN'T HAVE TO PAY.
I commented that I had a nice email exchange going with his sister who lives on the west coast, and the MIL says "Oh that's because she doesn't have any real friends." I. Just. Hate. Them. I don't want any of their negativity to rub off on Andy. I don't want their meanness and disappointment in life to affect him.
The rest of Saturday was nicer - got groceries, went to church, had company over for dinner (swordfish steaks grilled - marinated in lemon zest, olive oil and garlic; grilled sweet potato wedges, salad and an ice box cake.) We watched Empire Falls and looked for our friend's mother who was an extra, but didn't see her.
Sunday we placed flags on the veterans' graves with the cub scouts, more errands, laundry, etc; then went to dinner at our favorite Mexican restaurant. Monday it was up and at 'em for the parade (Andy and I marched for 2.3 miles!) then home, cooking, sushi, Andy and spouse went to see Robots and I took a nap! I HAD A NAP! Now it is back to work.
It was just such a nice weekend with little stress.
A friend who had moved away several years ago and with whom I've had sporadic contact has been on my mind this week, and sure enough, she called last night. That was a nice surprise.
Now it is back to work - a busy week, Thursday and Friday in Washington D.C. I really, really don't want to fly by myself.
a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!