Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:49 a.m. - 2005-05-23
Walking through the weekend

Had a lovely weekend - Friday, I scrapbooked, won the doorprize (a purple album) and ate some ice cream (and stayed on WW!) Came home, couldn't sleep, Andy had an asthma attack, but is fine. Got up at 3:45 and did my time for the Relay for Life. I goton the track exactly at 4 - there were maybe 9 people walking at that time. I saw all the fading luminaria inscribed with names of family members who had died from cancer - once again, it was overwhelming. Many of the candles had already burned out, but there were enough flickers to allow me to read the names - "We miss you Daddy," "Little Marcus," "Auntie Ming" all with dates, some with pictures. I wept for the first two laps, then got into a groove. I was glad to have this time because it meant I'd get to see the sun rise. And sure enough the DJ who had been playing continuously since 6 p.m. the night before started with "House of the Rising Sun" just as the sky began to brighten. I tried to count the number of steps in each lap, but kept messing up. I'm guessing that there are around 700 of my steps in a lap, and I went around 9 times in the hour. Then I met up with my neighbor who was taking the 5-6 a.m. shift and walked a lap with her, drove by to see if the Dunk was open at 5 a.m. - it is, but I didn't get anything - and then came home and fell asleep with my clothes on. I slept until 8, then came down to be with spouse and Andy. Spouse had commencement, so Andy and I had the day together. We hung out, watched cartoons, made a birthday card for my nephew, and then my favorite neighbor/friend called and asked if we'd go to the boy scout carwash since they had to cancel it the last 5 saturdays because of rain. We got a nice shiny wash, though I got hit with the hose (unintentionally) once. Then Andy and I went out to lunch where Andy consumed 10 - count 'em - 10 peking ravioli and I had a sushi/maki plate. Came home, cleaned up a bit, went to church, then had our friend over with his three girls (his wife was away at her HS reunion.) The girls were a bit out of control, but we had a nice time. I made cajun salmon, salad, tomato and shallot salsa, yellow rice, roasted asparagus and fresh strawberries for dessert. Spouse and I went to sleep early - it was a long day!
Sunday, up - read the paper, groceries, more sushi for lunch and I cooked several meals for the week:

Baked eggplant with reduced fat cheese and fresh tomato sauce; Ginger chicken soup with cabbage, celery and carrots; stuffed peppers with soy protien and brown rice (my most hippie recipe).

I'm proud of myself for staying completly on WW for the week - not one stray. I weigh in at lunch time and am hoping - but I know I did well, so that's what counts, and I can already feel some energy returning.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!