Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:30 a.m. - 2005-05-19
-

Several doses of pain killers and a tranquilizer later, we have survived the "pulling teeth" episode of our lives. The drugs were for me.

Andy was fine. Thank you for the thoughtful notes and email. Came home from work a bit early yesterday, and there he was - watching cartoons and looking slightly puffy. He ate three helpings of spaghetti and four meatballs. He ate a chocolate chip ice cream sandwich. He was fine. He was thrilled that he wasn't allowed to brush his teeth, eat crunchy vegetables or take his flouride rinse last night.

The tooth fairy came and left two five dollar bills - one for each guilty tooth.

Now it is just two weeks of rinsing with salt water, and waiting for his permanent teeth to drop in.

Spouse did a mountain of yardwork yesterday, so when the yard-waste truck comes Saturday, we're good to go. He's been fabulous on the chore front.

Made whole wheat spaghetti last night - bless the NYT for having a timely article on the most toothsome brands, spouse went out and got some (at $2.35 a pound!!!) but it was tasty, and it has fewer points (in WW speak) than regular pasta. Plus I worry that Andy doesn't get enough fiber. Anyway, I made a sauce from scratch - we had a ton of fresh basil, so I minced garlic, a bit of shallot and basil and sweated those in some olive oil - then dumped in a big can of diced tomatoes and more basil and simmered for a half-hour. I added a tablespoon of tomato paste, a bit more basil and we were good to go. It was quite tasty. And we stayed on program.

Last night's teevee - the season finale of "That 70s show" and the latest episode of "cooking under fire" on PBS, which we had taped earlier in the evening. I find it satisfying that the snarky chefs are getting blasted, and that in this challenge at least, the women - who listened, followed the directions asked of them, and who kept their wits about them, won. I find the host chefs - Ming Tsai, Todd English and another guy really pompous at times, but all-in-all, it is a good watch for me.

I think we may have found an affordable summer vacation.

Spouse might have found some more summer teaching which means a bit more money. YAY!

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!