Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:47 a.m. - 2005-05-09
Sometimes a pork roast works
Nice, busy weekend, now Monday and everyone is streaming in my office, wanting just a few minutes and I am backed up and need a good long sleep.

Saturday, I sorted through photos at a workshop for about five hours. It was a depressed little workshop - no music, busy, quiet stay at home Moms who scrapbook like their life depended on it. I was the only one of twenty who worked outside the home - I found that interesting. I was also the oldest. I found that...old.

Saturday afternoon I got bored, and though I was supposed to stay until 3:30, I left at 12:30, came home, hung out with spouse and Andy, cleaned, made salsa and guacamole, and brownies for the dinner. Picked up, cleaned off the dining room table, did three loads of wash and mopped the eternally stained kitchen floor.

Spouse began Mother's Day prep - he swept out the winters worth of salt and sand in the garage and potted some herbs that I requested - rosemary, basil (very sad basil...), sage and tarragon.

We went to church, picked up Andy's dinner at qa fast food place, came home and puot a fire in the fireplace because it was so cold and raw.

Company arrived, we chowed, but it was an early, quiet evening.

Sunday, Andy woke me up with his gifts - a finny card he made with a fold out heart that smiles, and a ceramic wine coaster that he made and glazed with my brother when he was visiting last month.
He also bought me gold earrings and paid for them himself. I'm wearing them now. Then we cuddled for an hour on the couch and watched cartoons.

Spouse made me bagels, lox, cream cheese, onions and capers for breakfast. He gave me opal earrings and four specialty chocolate bars. I spent the morning eating one of the chocolate bars and reading the paper and doing laundry. Then we made lunch (leftover pizza from Saturday night) and ran some errands. I made a pork roast for dinner - rubbed with herbs - sage, parsley, thyme, basil, garlic and rosemary; mushroom rissotto and sauteed spinach with garlic. It was delicious, but I was too full for dessert and today we start WW, so that means there's a pint of b&j phish phood in my freezer that will call to me.

But I woke up feeling full and bloated, so this is a good day to start eating healthier again and concentrate on losing some weight. My mother called on Friday to tell me that she is on blood pressure and cholesterol medication now and feels old. My siblings, who are not particularly overweight, are also on meds. I better get things checked.

I hope everyone had a good Mother's Day.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!