Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:59 a.m. - 2005-05-04
Trips and guilt
Yoost a quickie before I dash off to the conference for the day. Yesterday - not much, work, plow, sooop for dinner with noodles.

My disappointment for the day - Andy got a note home Monday night about his 2nd grade extravaganza and "Family Day." Spouse and I were thrilled, he's been working on an "autobiography" throughout the school year, and he gets to read it to the class. (Actually, all of the kids have been working on year-long projects.) Then we bring a picnic and get to stay with the kids until the end of the day.

Except

I went to put it in my calendar so I could take a vacation day from work and I am scheduled to be giving a presentation in Washington D.C. that day.

I am sick about it. So I told Andy when I picked him up from school last night and he wept for several minutes and I cried with him, and then (because I couldn't think of what else to say to console him) reminded him that I had been to every other thing, and that Daddy would be there and we would think of something special to do when I got home from Washington a few days later.

So...new guilt to add to the baggage set.

Made shepherd's pie with the leftover potroast, some ground beef, onions, garlic and the leftover potroast gravy. Used the leftover mashed potatoes I made Sunday. That will be tonight's dinner. Except I hate shepherd's pie, so it will not be my dinner.

Did I already say that the drive-in theater is open? Maybe we need to go there in a few weekends!

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!