Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:21 p.m. - 2005-03-24
How could I forget this?
Okay - how could I forget this? I haven't been sleeping (well I have done some sleeping, but for the past four nights it has been sitting up in a chair and it has only been a few hours.) Last night I actually slept in my bed for six hours. What a difference! What a wonderful world? I immediately had that feeling I had when Andy was about 9 weeks old and I thought I would never live to see his first birthday. The adrenaline of new motherhood had worn off so I actually NEEDED sleep, and because he was collicky we never actually got too much of it. Poor little muffin. But I forgot and started to go a little crazy, like nothing would ever get better and I was a lousy mother, and then my mother came to visit and took Andy for one night and everything changed. How can I forget that? Sleep = sanity. What I hate most about getting respiratory infections is that it takes all the thrill of curling up under the covers away for me. I CAN'T BREATHE! But now, I feel a bit better and even though we got six inches of snow, I am remembering that Easter is this weekend, which means bunnies and chicks and chocolate and roast lamb and the neighborhood easter egg hunt, and maybe a tulip plant. We'll see.
I made a wicked good chicken soup that is curing spouse and me. Had some boneless/skinless chicken thighs; some chicken stock; one portion of thai chicken curry with vegetables I had frozen; some frozen leftover cous cous with zucchini; chopped some garlic, about three inches of ginger root, 7 carrots, 4 small ribs of celery and a large onion and simmered it all. Towards the end I added a cup of uncooked rice. It was delicious - sunny yellow soup with strong ginger flavor. I have some left if you want it. The sad thing is though, for the most part, my soups generally don't taste exactly the same from batch to batch (except for my mushroom soup and my chicken rice soup) because I never know what I'm going to put in them, and it all depends on the leftovers. That might be my new motto: "It all depends on the leftovers."
So here's the other thing - my entire family is coming up the third week of April for Andy's first communion. Must. Find. Hotel. Rooms.
That means I also have to clean up my cluttered house. I feel another purge coming on.
Here's my advice - do what you have to do to get some sleep. But not too long.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!