Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:55 a.m. - 2005-02-25
Clam catcher and in laws
I got to do my little happy Friday dance yesterday, since I took today as a vacation day. Andy and I are going to see a movie and have lunch with his friends vefore. Last night was a perfect little snow storm. It started just before dinner and finished up around 6 a.m. So today is a beautiful white and crystally morning. The street plows have come by twice already, but our driveway guy hasn't yet appeared.
Drove to the city where I went to college yesterday. I hadn't actually been there for at least 20 years and was there to interview the school superintendent. He was interesting and was nice enough to take me on a little tour on the way to lunch. Itwas interesting as the city has cleaned itself up a bit. It was pretty scruffy when I was there in the late 70s. Yes, I am old.
On the drive home I was thinking about my in-laws. Last summer the MIL was complaining that the FIL expected to be waited on hand and foot. He has polio and has alternately used it to get people to serve him and also as a weapon to keep people away. I respect him for his ability to get through a chronic illness, but I have never much liked him. Anyway, MIL was at fever pitch last summer,talking about leaving him, how he took her for granted, never said thank you, etc. Since he broke his leg last August, the MIL still has to wait on him, but at least he is saying "thank you" she confided last weekend. She has found a way to come to terms with things I suppose, and I was mulling this like a bitter and salty losenge yesterday on the way home from work. Just because someone pisses me off, doesn't mean he/she isn't resillient in some way..
Last night I made clam catcher (Andy named it.) I take tomatoes, basil, parsley, shallots and garlic - sweat the shallots and garlic in olive oil in a deep pan, add the herbs, add chopped canned tomatoes and whatever else might be in the fridge (some sun dried tomatoes, some less than perfect fresh tomatoes, some pesto)and simmer it. Then I add a couple of pounds of mahogany clams (they were on sale, cherry stones are fine too) and simmer it until the clams open. I take out the clams and set them aside, then shuck them. Then I simmer the sauce until it thickens. I serve it either over pasta or thick slices of crusty toasted bread mixing the clams back in. It is delicious! Andy and Spouse really liked it.
My parents are back on the continent and called from LA last night. They went to watch doctor FFil and the show will air next Wednesday. Time to go get dressed.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!