Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:30 a.m. - 2005-02-14
Dumplings for my love
Happy Valentine's Day! This morning spouse got up a bit earlier than I did (two snooze alarm smashes instead of my three...) and made me real oatmeal to take to work. Awwwww. I also got a little silver pin of the dish running away with the spoon which I am wearing on my black blazer over my red dress. Andy made me two valentines. I am a salami and he is a piece of candy. "Get it mom? Mommy Salami and Andy Candy?" My other unexpected surprise is that just outside my window, someone has left two red and two pink balloons. They are tangled in a tree four floors up, but it made me smile this morning, though I am sorry for whoever lost them yesterday.
Last night I meant to watch the grammy awards and Iron Chef. I meant to be in touch with pop culture, but instead spouse was flinking through and we got stuck on "The Way We Were" and I realized how much of my adolescence and college years I defined by that movie. It was an epiphany, but not something I feel like writing about at the moment, so it can't be that huge a deal.
This weekend - Karate, lunch with Andy his friend and the friend's mother; then we saw Lemony Snicket which I thought was amusing, then Andy and spouse went off to their sleepover at the museum. They had a blast.
I had a laundry festival while they were gone. I am too exciting for myself sometimes.
Last night I made spouse a special dinner because today would be way too busy, so I did stuffed portobello mushrooms, crab cakes (his favorite) with wild greens, mango salsa and a lemony dressing. It was really good. Dessert was a vanilla cake with fresh raspberries. (spouse likes doughy, dumplingy things which is probably why he likes me!) Badum ching...
Tonight I am trying a new made up recipe of boneless skinless chicken thighs, stock, fish sauce, lime leaves, sweet potato chunks, garlic, ginger, onions, cilantro and green beans. When I get home, I will thicken the sauce with a bit of lite coconut milk. Hope it turns out okay.
Might not get to update tomorrow - I have jury duty then three hours of cub scout training. Could my life possibly be any more exciting? a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!