Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:32 p.m. - 2005-01-05
Duvet Day
The snow is swirling down, with threats of freezing rain in an hour or two. I dread this part of winter. I do not like to drive in ice and snow, particularly after my pre-Christmas event. I'm hoping that I'll just have to deal with snow, that the weather predicters (HAH!) are wrong about the ice. We shall see. I'd give anything for a snow day tomorrow, but I don't think the campus has ever closed in recent memory, and besides, the students are not yet back. My guess is that Andy and Spouse will get to stay home tomorrow, but I will slog to the big city to work.
My sister called last night. She is on her way to Texas on business as we speak. She'll be back on Friday. Her ex spouse (please, please make him an ex once and for all) was supposed to take care of HIS cat while she was away over the holidays with the kids, but instead, he left it in a cage in front of her house for a week. After a day or two, the neighbors took pity, fed the cat (who is older than dirt, and who has taken to soiling every square inch of my sister's house) and then threatened to file an animal abuse claim against her. She was beside herself with frustration and tried to explain the situation, but doesn't think the neighbors get it. She had trusted the ex to take care of his own cat. Hell, he doesn't even take care of his own children.
Anyway, she told him he had to take the cat now, so we suspect that the cat will be going to kitty heaven this week. It is 19 years old.
This week I just want to stay under the comforter. Could I just have a few days to myself? Even just one?
Lots of projects at work so it is good to keep busy, but I am longing for my pillow and the quiet.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!