Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:18 p.m. - 2004-12-13
Have to pare it down
Today's theme? I have no idea. Not that that is the theme, just that I have no underlying thread today, and I usually do in my tiny brain.
Weekend - did all the things I said we had to do - cubscout pancake breakfast - worked two hours, won the crockpot in the raffle - WOOO HOOO! How sad am I that I am elated over winning a crockpot. But it is PROGRAMMABLE, and it has a crock that comes out, which makes washing it ever so much more POSSIBLE. Then Karate, then lunch with two former co-workers and their kids - one of whom took three whole bags of Andy's clothes. Then grocery shopping, then trying to clean the dining room table which I have been attempting since the mid 70s. Still no success. Then date night with spouse at a restaurant where I didn't have to cut up anyone's food or fish crayons out of my purse. Came home, did 10 more Christmas cards, fell asleep. Sunday - slept through church - I am a bad Catholic - or "cathletic" as Andy's friend calls us.
Schlepped to the in-laws, gave MIL her gifts and a home-made orange cake. Here is what I find strange - I assumed (stupid, stupid me) that she would want to share the cake with her oldest son and her grand son and okay, her daughter in law. So I thought once we brought her back from lunch, we'd all light a candle, sing happy birthday and have a piece of the cake I made for her. (orange is her child-hood favorite.) But nope - she is saving the cake for Wednesday - her real birthday, and she will eat the cake by herself, with no singing. I mean, she opened the gifts - she didn't wait for her real birthday for that. Why would she withhold the cake? My guess is that she wanted to watch the Patriots game. That is the only thing I can figure out. Anyway, got back home, Andy went to play with his friend, spouse and I did some more wrapping and packing - last two boxes go out tomorrow I hope!!! picked Andy up, drove to see some holiday light displays, came home, nuked dinner, did wash, wrapped, 10 more cards. Watch the INFURIATING finale of survivor, 10 more cards, then to bed. Today it is meetings, meetings, meetings. Tomorrow I have to have some tests (nothing major, just folllow up on last week's annual) so I don't have to go into work. Sick day. Andy's school conference is also tomorrow, can't wait! Tonight, aunt and uncle are coming for dinner and a sleepover, tomorrow aunt and spouse go to a museum exhibit in the big city. Tomorrow, teacher conference, tomorrow night, cub scout meeting and holiday party - how the hell did it end up at my house? Wednesday? Two major work projects; Thursday I'm not sure; Friday - postponed neighborhood carol sing; Saturday - grown-ups night (babysitter); Sunday, in law visit and the company for dinner. Why am I still cooking here?
Here is what I am cutting from my to do list: Baking - I don't think I'll be doing any holiday baking except for Andy's annual gingerbread assembly. (This year it is a train I think.) Also - no hand-made cards this year. Maybe no laundry either...

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!