Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:18 p.m. - 2004-11-17
Sometimes it's all about the spoons
Today is spouse's birthday. Last night after cub scouts, Andy and I went to the market to get him some treats - streudel for breakfast, an afternoon snack (nuts) and the groceries I need to make him his requested dinner - pasta with roasted sausage and green onions. For dessert, we'll have breath mints. Actually, we'll have apple pie rather than cake, because that's what spouse prefers.
This weekend I took Andy shopping to pick out some gifts and then we made cards on Sunday. Spouse opened one of his cards from Andy and one of his presents from me. A tie. I know, boring, but spouse loves ties - he has over 130 of them. Tonight he'll get the rest of his presents at dinner (more ties, books, a CD, a shirt and some pecan fudge.)
I finished a huge project at work yesterday and did some extra things around it, so I'm hoping my boss will be happy with it.
Just found out that a woman I was best friends with in jr. high school (I am so old, that they did not call it middle school back then) is pregnant with her first child. We had lost touch for many years, reconnected a couple of years ago, and she was desperate for a child, but resigned that she would not have any. She is four months pregnant and due on her birthday in May. I am thrilled for her and they are so excited. We're hoping to connect for lunch in the next few weeks.
The in laws remembered spouse's birthday, though I was afraid they wouldn't. They sent us a joint card this year (twice since we've been married, we've gotten our own cards.) I hope my family remembers.
Looks like everyone is gathering at our house on the Saturday after Thanksgiving - first to shop near the outlet complex that is near us, then to come for a meal. What to make? I won't have leftover turkey, so I'm thinking chili? Too boring? I'm open to suggestions. There will be my brother, his girlfriend and her family (8); my brother, sil and their two kids; my parents, their two friends and spouse, Andy and me. Better make sure I have enough spoons!
I wish someone would bring me a cupcake right now.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!