Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:09 p.m. - 2004-10-26
There needs to be some slappin'
I've been appreciating my spouse more these days, so I was especially sad when he told me he knew he was a disappointment to his parents - this from a man with a Ph.D. from hahvahd, who is a wonderful husband, father, professor and son. He's not the most ambitious soul, but he is a kind and honest man. And he's right - his parents treat him like dirt, while they dote on his brother, who was until a few years ago - a major slacker who wanted to draw comics for a living, only he couldn't draw and he wasn't funny. Now he is a veep for a well known financial conglomerate who started off as a para legal because his law degree from a second rate school precluded him actually going into practice because no one wanted him as an associate. His wife is also a veep for another well known financial/insurance conglomerate and they now collect art, which is important to the in-laws. However they are unkind, ignore their parents, and (imho) are generally unpleaseant to be around. They bring their cat everywhere, including to the mother's house even though she has asthma and is allergic to cats and they could well afford to board the cat or hire a cat sitter.
The most extensive conversation I have ever had with them was when spouse's sister died unexpectedly and when we asked for help in clearing out her apartment, they showed up, took all the electronics (tv, stereo, microwave, etc.) and said they couldn't stay because it was too hard on them. So they left it for spouse to handle. But I'm not bitter.
Anyway, it just makes me sad that spouse is sad because no matter what, I think you always want your parents' approval. I just have to find more ways to remind spouse how fabulous he is.
The next few days are kind of crazy - tomorrow is another day of supervisory training; then Thursday and Friday I am on a business trip and I'm not sure if I'll get to post.
Hear that? It is my pillow calling, except it is way to far away for me to go to it.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!