Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:43 p.m. - 2004-10-25
So many laughing gifts
Oh what a lovely weekend. Friday, I got home and we had a list of errands to do (yes, just took my Myers-Briggs and I'm DEFINITELY a LIST person - didn't realize how happy it made me until someone pointed it out to me...) Anyway, we had our list, set off but first went to dinner at a chain pizza place where the pizza was - um - ug. It was so bad, we couldn't eat it. I mean, how can you ruin pizza? Anyway, I saved the calories, spouse was a bit disgruntled, but we finished our Friday night errands and laughed in the car and made up disgusting ice cream flavors and a new word for passing gas (air pies) - yes high times in Pattypat's world. Andy was laughing so hard, it was the best sound ever. So Saturday morning rolls around - another list - I go to Karate with Andy, spouse does three of the errands, then the plan is that we all go to a sushi buffet near some other errands we have, but Andy opted to stay with his friend, so spouse and I had alone time, had a HUGE buffet of sushi, and got four more errands done from the list. We got home, I wasn't hungry for dinner, so spouse and Andy had omelets, and I went to church so I could sleep in the morning. There is a new priest at our church - he is from Africa and came here for medical treatment, then got assigned to our parish. We can't always understand the sermon - his accent is thick and the acoustics are poor, but at the end of his sermon, he just burst into a simple song - "It's me oh lord, standing in the need of prayer..." His voice was so clean and earnest and it moved me to tears as his voice - so full of humility and piety - filled the church. It was the only sound. It is still with me. I had to sit in the car for awhile before I drove home. I wish Andy had been with me.
Got home - we watched baseball, I did some more laundry and we laughed even more. Andy and I had a marrathon game of monopoly and I kept going to jail. Andy won.
Yesterday was a visit with the in-laws. Andy and I played trivia games, he told an ethnic joke that I have NO EARTHLY CLUE where he heard it from - really, but it was very funny and not offensive and it made his grandparents laugh.
Andy and I made another errand list, and we put things on it like:

1. Tickle Andy
2. Cuddle Andy
3. Do a load of wash
4. Steal a wrecking ball
5. Eat jellyfish stew
6. Do homework

Andy loved the list and took great joy in crossing things out as we accomplished them. It was just so nice to be with him this weekend.

And now it is Monday and I feel somewhat organized and am getting ready for the holidays. I'm about halfway done I think for gift shopping, thoug hI always overbuy in November and December, but I have to ship everything this year, so maybe that will help. And now back to work as I'm standing in the need of prayer.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!