Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:16 p.m. - 2004-10-21
You never know
Today I sat through a whole day of a four day supervisory training. That is all I will say about that.
I find it odd but comforting that I am currently working where I am here at this university, not because I am so professionally fulfilled, but because I applied here when I was in high school. This was my first choice. I remember staying with my grandparents who lived about an hour away and my mother and I drove to the interview from their apartment, but I had been helping them with some errands and had on sneakers instead of real "Interview" shoes. I didn't realize it until we were almost at the admissions office, 45 minutes later, and it was too late. If I left, I would miss my interview appointment. But my grandfather and grandmother had realized my mistake and drove to the sprawling campus, which is spread out all over this part of the city. They had no idea where admissions was. Fate intervened. It was easy to spot my grandfather's car - an orange dodge dart - but to this day I don't know how he happened upon us. He was not the best driver and my grandmother was not a navigator. Even now, I am still so moved that they did that for me - the drive, not knowing exactly where they were going, and not stopping until they found me. My grandfather was not a warm person, but that act of kindness to me is one of my treasures.
After all that, I didn't get in to this university and ended up going to school somewhere elwe. Yet nearly 30 years later, I am here. In a different capacity. Like I got a preview of my life somehow, and a reminder about what my treasures would be.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!