Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:35 a.m. - 2004-10-20
Just the details ma'am
Today is full of niggling details and large looming issues. Today is my baby bro's b-day. He is in his very early forties. That makes me very, very old.
Last night I was the den mother. We did units on the American flag and on keeping your body healthy. Then we made paper bag masks. Andy won the best behavior trophy for the night and gets to keep it until the next den meeting. I find it remarkable that the boys with the worst behavior (i.e. hitting the other kids, taking things that don't belong to them, talking back to their parents,) are the ones who are most surprised NOT to receive the trophy. They are truly crestfallen that they don't get it.
We spent alot of time telling the three boys who were yelling that they didn't get the trophy this week, how it was up to them to win it - that by listening, paying and attention, and following instructions from their parents and the den leaders that they could win the trophy. BUT THAT IT WAS UP TO THEM TO CHOOSE HOW THEY BEHAVED. Yes, I know these are seven and eight year olds who may have little to no impulse control, but they are in school, so they must be able to control themselves for longer periods of time. Do I sound like I don't like these boys? Actually, I adore most of them, and already know their little habits, and what makes them laugh, and which projects will engage them. I want them all to win the trophy and I believe they can work towards it.
Anyway - tomorrow I have an all-day supervisor's training program and spouse is not teaching tomorrow, so he's going to come up to the campus library and do some research, so we'll get to commute together! How cool is that??? So in addition to driving in and home with him, I won't have to worry about finding a parking space! (the course runs four weeks, so I'm just avoiding the inevitable.)
Andy woke up in a nasty mood, which he said was our fault because we left the downstairs tv on to record a program I knew I wouldn't be awake for (NYPD Blue. In fact, I've yet to watch the two other tapes I have and I missed a show in there somewhere...) Anyway, he said he woke up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, and he heard the tv and couldn't get to sleep -which I know is false, because I checked on him several times last night and he was sound asleep. His 'tude is definitely developing.
I'm feeling virtuous because I have a crockpot meal simmering at home waiting for us to arrive, and I used up a bunch of leftovers (roast pork, peppers and onions, veggies, overripe tomatoes) to make a weight watchers chili. Just remembered that I forgot to add cilantro which I can do when I get home.
And tonight I don't have to go anywhere (that I know of!)

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!