Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:25 a.m. - 2004-10-12
Accessoring a vampire
Sometime in the last two months, I became the auntie who sings. My nieces beg me to sing songs to them on the phone. I happily oblige, although to paraphrase Leo Koetke, I have a voice that sounds somewhat like geese farting in the fog. My voice usually sounds thin and unpleasant to me, but my neices love it. Andy, not so much. Somehow I've amassed a collection of silly songs to which I know the lyrics. And I sing to them.
Saturday I had a day of scrapbooking - I so enjoyed it - though I realize that I have chosen a hobby that I will find a way to cause me pain - like when someone dies - will I still want to make picture pages of them? Anyway, I will enjoy it now - I can be a little bit arty-farty, a little bit organized (you should see my sticker collection) and I can get a little retail buzz when I need a fix. Some of the acoutrements are pretty cheap - like under a buck or two. So Saturday I had a whole day of it - and this coming weekend I get another two days of scrapbooking. But Saturday was so beautiful in the morning driving to the event a town or two away - that I had to bite my lip not to cry - the leaves were just spectacular.
Saturday night we had our postponed Friday night home-made pizza, I went to church to get it don with (yah - how holy am I with an attitude like that???) and we took a drive to get lottery tickets for an enormous drrawing (which we didn't win.) Sunday was in-law hell day. The FIL was just mean and ornery, refused to move from in front of the football game, complained that he didn't like the photos we had taken last month and brought to him. I do not like to be around him. We took the MIL for lunch, asked if she had any thoughts about how she wanted to handle Thanksgiving - I could come and cook the day before, so we'd just have to reheat (no - too much work for her...); I could come and pick them up and bring them to our house (no - too much work for her); I could come to her house and cook that day (no - too much work for her...) There is no satisfying them, and that is what i have to work on in myself - not to keep trying to satisfy them, because they do not want to be. They will complain about their situation - MIL is sick of waiting on FIL, not being able to go out for more than 45 minutes at a time, etc., but when I offer to come over so she can go out, or offer to find some respite care for her she says it is too stressful to have someone else in the house. They do not want any solutions. I must stop trying to find them.
Yesterday was the first time since before Andy was born that I had columbus day off, so Andy and I spent the day together - we saw a movie, we made some muffins, we tended to his snuffles which arrived late in the afternoon. We made a yummy dinner - pork roast (Andy even commented that there wasn't a storm, so why were we making a pork roast?) delicata squash, spinach and peach, ginger cobbler with dulce de leche. It was so good!
Out of order here, but Friday we went to get Andy's halloween costume. Since November 1 of last year, Andy has said he wanted to be a vampire. Then last week we got a circular in the mail from a party chain store and they had a picture of a swat team guy and Andy suddenly wanted that costume (which was close to $40.) I told he we would see it and then his father and I would make a decision. Fortunately, the swat team was out of stock, so he went back to being a vampire, though he pouted for a bit, and he doesn't want any make up or blood, so he'll probably just look like a members of a 60s band like herman's hermits or something with the frilly shirt and the cape. We did buy him glow in the dark fangs. How can you be a vampire without glow in the dark fangs?
Back to work.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!