Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:29 p.m. - 2004-10-01
Be nice
It is Friday. It is Friday. It is Friday. I have two more meetings and a quick project to finish up, then I go home (that means stop at the farmer's market for some veggies and applies, pick up some mozzarella for the home-made pizza we're having tonight, gas up the car for the weekend, and pick up Andy from his after-school program.)
Last night Andy and I went to dinner - we stopped home first to bring in the trash cans, recycling bins and the mail, and I got caught in a conversation with the neighbor mommies about the block party on Sunday, and Andy was very patient - all the other kids were interrupting and demanding attention and pulling on shirts and pantlegs, but Andy brought in the bins and trash cans, got the mail and then sat on the curb, thumbing through the mail and looking righteous. He knew he was being especially well-behaved. I told him because he was so good he could pick out some stickers at the craft store after dinner. We had a nice dinner - he chattered the whole time, drew on the paper tablecloths making trains and air planes and space ships. He is so very seven right now.
He ate his dinner and then wanted more, so he ate part of my dinner and still wanted more, so we ordered another cheese taco and he ate that too. I told him if he was still hungry he could have an apple when we got home. That made him decide he was full enough.
Spouse came home around 9 and we watched the debates. That is all I'll say about that. Also watched Survivor and I'm struck at how catty and whiny everyone is, especialy those of my gender. It is the same way on apprentice. I don't know if this is a recurring theme in my life right now, but at work, I must say I have never worked in a place where everyone has such contempt for one another. On these two planes of my life -work and entertainment, there is no pulling together right now - no team work, no good ideas, no synnergy to save us all. It is very draining.
On other fronts, did I mention that it is FRIDAY?

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!