Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:32 a.m. - 2004-09-27
Tired of the wind
the Flora-dora contingent is safe - some structural damage, but physically safe and awaiting the return of power and phone service.
Took the MIL out to lunch yesterday - she is angry and bitter and feels like a servant. FIL still hasn't moved from the couch is enjoying himself. Spouse is upset and tried gently to suggest that FIL at least get in the wheelchair while we were there and go out to the dek and get some fresh air and sun - it was one of those fabulous beginning of fall days. FIL refused and settled in front of his massive television for the rest of the day, and the evening. He sleeps there, he has not bathed, he has not moved from that space since he came home from the ER a month ago. He has surrendered. I feel bad for the MIL and for spouse especially and suggested that he say whatever he wants to say to his father sooner rather than later, because I'm afraid (though I didn't say this to spouse) that FIL will get pneumonia this winter and surrender to that too.
When we got back from lunch, I took Andy shopping for some fall clothes. He has become fixated on getting a "jeans" shirt, so we got one for him yesterday, and it wasn't even on sale! He is so cute my little munchkin. Though he looks so much like his father and I can find no visible genetic material from me in him we share some common traits: Like me, he carries a grudge. For a long time. He loves to have company. He likes to sing, but not in front of anyone. He doesn't like much candy, except chocolate. He likes to smell candles, but only a few of them. He loves his dad.
Spouse and I had a huge fight Saturday night. It is one of the same two fights we always have. I set ground rules for this situation, being the control freak that I am - and he ignored them and kept picking at it until we had "the fight." We haven't quite made up, but there is a truce. Andy was asleep and we kept the volume down, but I suspect it must have registered with him on some level despite our best intentions because he woke up quote melancholy yesterday morning. When I asked him why he was sad, he said he was missing being on the cruise we took for vacation. He even cried a bit. I have to keep an eye on that because even though he is only seven, I worry about depression. It is a gift from both sides of his family. We'll see.
That is all.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!