Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:57 a.m. - 2004-09-20
Am I doing this right?
On Saturday morning, Andy woke me up around 6:45 and said "Mommy, is it supposed to drip from the attic door?" Oh heavens, there was a steady plink, plink, plink of water dripping onto our bedroom floor from the ceiling - in the space here the steps to the attic folds up to the ceiling. I was afraid to open it for fear that the entire attic was now full of water, soaking insulation and the boxes of papers and baby clothes we save up there, but spouse was braver than I. He got dressed, put on sneakers and opened the door - not much water, just a leak directly over that particular milimeter of space, and apparently it had just started, because nothing much else was very wet. We propped boards and bowls under the leaks, and it was raining pretty steadily all day, but it seems to be a freakish storm (remnants of Ivan) that caused the leak. We'll survey more during better weather, but perhaps we don't have to go through the process of filing for a home equity loan and gettin g the roof re-done. At least this month.

I've been doing the hart part of parenting this past week - reminding Andy not to talk back; correcting him when he claims to know something, when he doesn't - on a whole range of topics from his homework to what is causing my car's engine to make a grindy kind of noise. I don't correct him loudly, or in front of other people - I'm not into humiliating him, but he was talking back for everything this weekend. When I scolded him, he started crying and said he didn't know why he acted this way, and maybe it was because two weeks ago his friend kept hitting his backpack even though Andy asked her to stop. That made me crazy - first, because this kid can hold a grudge FOREVER (just like his Mom); and secondly, I'm thinking is he just saying that because he can't figure out why he is feeling bad/ornery/whatever? Is this signs of depression? Gah! Deep breath.

We did his scout thang Saturday night, in the rain, so the camping part was cancelled - oh, how very, very sad. But it was fun, and Andy was one of five boys in the whole pack of 80 something who got an award for going to all the summer events this year. He got a compass (my idea.) The boys who got the award loved it!

Sunday was wash, clean, cook (pork roast with thyme, sage, rosemary and garlic; roasted delicata squash; roasted plum tomatoes and broccoli.) It is finally drying out - we've had the remnants of Ivan for most of Friday and Saturday, and Sunday it was a glorious fall-like day. We went to our town's "harvest festival." It was very charming, though I am tired of parents who don't control their kids, and who think it is fine to cut in line (the parents, not the kids,) and tell me that I don't mind.

My mother says she is feeling a bit less depressed going out helps. taking off the hurricane shutters helps more; and settling with the insurance company will help as well. They have to replace most of their roof, all of their refrigerated and frozen food; and the screens around the patio - not much is covered by insurance, thank you governor J#b Bu$h for your concessions to the insurance industry. The neighborhood association is supposed to take care of all the trees the area has lost, and most importantly, they are both alive.

She also said she and my father may come up at the end of October/beginning of November. That's fine. I've reconciled to the fact that they are choosing not to come for Thanksgiving. What am I doing for Thanksgiving? (insert mantra here - "Who the hell knows?") Initially, I was supposed to cook for the in-laws, but who knows if FIL will be mobile then? And I like to hit all the stores that open at 5 a.m. or 6 a.m. on the day after Thanksgiving and do some holiday shopping. Usually I go with my friend, but I go alone and get home by like 8:30 or 9 a.m. and am feeling self-righteous and ready to go back to sleep.

Here are things I will complain about:

1. The Miss Americ@ pageant - I usually get a kick out of watching it - the talent is my fave, and this year wink, wink - the talent portion is so important, that it is the final competition, but only two finalists get to show their talent on air. That leaves more time for the surgically altered spe#do bathing suits, and the new modeling competition. Oh. Yay. Everything was taped - interviews, introductions, etc. And really, the host of the b@chelor hosting it? Well that just says it all. I switched it off after 10 minutes. Women and television - we've come so far. yay.

2. why doesn't someone take some responsibility around here?

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!