Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:43 a.m. - 2004-09-15
If I don't write them down, I'll forget what I needed to do
Today we had a chimney sweep come to our house - I feel all Mary Poppins like, although I wasn't actually there when the sweep was there - Spouse and Andy are home - Spouse because he doesn't have any classes to teach today, and Andy because he is still sick and hurled a violently red pedialyte hurl just as I was leaving for work. The good news is that he doesn't seem to have a fever this morning. Spouse took him to the doctor yesterday at the doctor's suggestion and did a strep check and a couple other tests (to confirm for the paranoid wife that it wasn't eastern equine - the test is a neck check - whoda thunk?) Anyway, the quick strep came back ngative, although Andy has some swollen glands and an inflamed throat and a fever of 101-102. He and I just flopped around yesterday - watching endless cartoons and reading Junie B Jones books. I think he must be feeling better today because he wanted to play on the computer, so that's a sign.

All kinds of work intrigue, none of which directly affects me, and all of which has an impact on me.

Can I just say that this is one of my least favorite wardrobe times? Not quite cool enough for fall clothes, but not quite warm enough for summer clothes? I have no clue what to wear right now - I need a wardrobe boost, though our checking account will not support that at the moment. Of course in a month I will be complaining that I have too much stuff in my closet. Make a note of that.

The turkeys are still here - my neighborfriend called around 6:15 to alert us that they were in her yard, so now we know where they come from! (Yes, we were up, and yes, she knows that.) Anyway, they were gone by the time I left for work. I really thought the flock had been decimated by the coyotes that live in the woods and wetlands (nice word for swamp) around us, but before we used to see only three or four turkeys - now there are about a dozen.

Things I would like to do before I die:

(besides being a great mother, wife, friend, daughter, sister...)

1. Be physically fit

2. Learn to play the cello

3. Start an organization that helps kids who age out of the foster-care system at 18

4. Take Andy and Spouse to Ireland and Italy

5. Pet the stingrays again

6. Not have a bladder that wakes me up at 5:47 a.m. every morning

7. Write a really great/useful cookbook that gets published and lands me a regular spot with Katie and Matt

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!