Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:56 a.m. - 2004-08-26
Wrestling with emotions
Expressions we say in our family:

"He leaps to his feet with the speed of a muffin."

"Old Fuzzy wants to know." (Old Fuzzy is spouse.)

I can't see the footage of Olympic wrestler Rulon Gardner leaving his shoes on the mat signaling his retirement from the sport and not cry for him. I have no idea why. I am not a wrestling fan or watcher, though I remember his improbable victory in Sydney at the last Olympics. I have no idea if he is a good person or not, although he certainly looks sweet and kind to me. I am crying as I type this. I cried twice at radio references to it on the way to work. I wept when I read the story in the New York Times online when I got into work. I am saying a small prayer that he finds the joy and passion he obviouisly had in the wrestling part of his life in other parts of his life. I envision for him small, plump sons toddling onto a mat, and him buying tiny wrestling shoes for them. I hope he will be happy, and I don't know why that moves me more than my poor sweet husband this morning who was so nervous starting his 14th year of college teaching, but I yelled at him for leaving a rootbeer in a glass bottle in the freezer which exploded overnight leaving brown bubbly goo and shards of glass all over freakin everything. I am a mean wife.

Cleansing breath.

Last night we went to the concert on the common - ran into a few neighbors, and Andy (in my father's opinion) was a "chick magnet." He had about five girls ranging in age from 4 to 9 following him and begging him to play tag and hide and seek and dance. My son is a chick magnet.

Can I also just say that I am so annoyed with the writing of Six Feet Under that I could spit? THEY WOULD NOT HAVE OPENED THE CONTAINER OF ASHES. THEY JUST WOULD NOT HAVE! And there are only two more episodes, so my guess is that they are going to leave us watching the fisher family filing for bankruptcy and perhaps losing the funeral home.

Tonight my mother is making dinner. I am looking forward to eating something delicious. I cooked Sunday (grilled sausages, salad, grilled veggies, blueberry trifle,); Monday - crab cakes; Tuesday we didn't eat because we had a huge lunch; last night was sandwiches for the concert; and tonight we should have something yummy. I hope.

Today is meeting city. Time to go to work.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!