Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:51 a.m. - 2004-08-18
Pearls from my son
But first - the Andy things:

1. As soon as I got home yesterday, Andy was waiting for me at the door (he's usually out back playing with friends or on the computer in the den playing on pbskidsdotorg (I'm such a good mother.) Anyway, he and spouse did some outings at the area science museum, and some shopping yesterday, and the local W@lmort has one of those grabby crane games where you shovel thousands of quarters into it to win a ten-cent ball. Anyway, Andy got a strand of glass pearls on his first shot. He was so proud to give them to me. "Do you think they're real Mom? Do you think that is real gold?" Of course it is - it is full of love and real feelings, and I haven't taken it off since he gave it to me.

2. Then we got in the car and Andy had his first kenpo-karate class. He was so cute - there were about 20 other kids in the class, and Andy has gone to watch with one of his friends on several occasions, so we signed him up, and he has a little white costume and white belt. I nearly had a heart-attack as the instructor (who I SWEAR is a relative of Frank Zappa) walked on each kid's stomach as they were doing crunches. Andy didn't even flinch. I just watched those perfect little arms and legs flailing about as he did his exercizes and moves. It is a very respectful atmosphere, each child has a list of activities he/she must complete during the week - things Andy does already - making beds, listening to parents, putting away toys, etc. They have to keep a chart and turn it in at the group lesson. So we'll see how long he likes it - for a while I hope! There are four classes for his age group, so we have a bit of flexibility in the schedule.

Work? Another "emergency" project - a national conference next month that we are just finding out about even though we are one of three co-sponsors. I just don't get it. Anyway, I can be a hero again. I hope.

Today I pick up my folks at the airport, and then tomorrow they go to my brother's until Sunday night.

Tomorrow I have a mini-reunion with some of the people (most of whom I like, some I don't know) that I worked with at my last job. I am bringing my amazing salsa - really, it is amazing. Here's the secret - lime juice and cilantro; and some sausage from the area Italian section in the city in which I work.

Today FIL goes to the orthopedist to see what's up with his leg. I hope things go well. MIL is still in a snit. I've offered to stay with FIL on my lunch break so MIL can get out of the house; I've offered meals, doing errands, etc, but they say they don't need anything.

I'm hungry, aren't you?

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!