Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:40 a.m. - 2004-07-19
Yahd sale and Two Broth#rs
Yahd sale is done. What a pain! I think I have a five year threshhold between yard sales where I forget what a nuisance it can be. But - we got rid of most of the stuff, including two large pieces of furniture. We had "earlybirds" arrive at 6 a.m., when the sale started at 8 a.m. they had the ovaries to ring the bell. I was up, but what a nerve. Of course the earlybirds are looking for a Picasso behind the amateur still life of fruit from high school art class. We clearly advertised what we had - toys, furniture, some household items, and still the early birds came early looking for "antique clocks or watches" really, why would I sell that at a yard sale? We even had one woman call who said that she couldn't come on Saturday, would we hold stuff for her to "look at" for Sunday, though she was clear she may not want to buy it. Oh well, we made a few families very happy, and in the end, all that remained was a trunk full of toys and household stuff.

What else did we do? After the sale, we cleaned up, dropped off the remaining to a charity then went to FILs birthday dinner. It was pretty low key, though towards the end of the meal, which had lovely service, my FIL decided that his coffee hadn't arrived quickly enough. The server was obviously busy and checked with us frequently, but my FIL had to make a scene. It as unpleasant. Here is a man who won't fight with his insurance company who is bilking him of thousands of dollars, nor will he fight to get the medical care he needs, but he will belittle a waiter. It is so distasteful and sad.

Both FIL and MIL had too much wine, so after dinner they were pretty much done for the night so Andy and I headed home. Spouse stayed because he was taking an early morning train from their city to go to NY. We made it home and went to sleep. I am so grateful for our alone time - I know he doesn't recognize it as something to be valued (not whining, just the fact that he is an only child) but I like when it is just the two of us, or the two of them every now and then.

Sunday, errands, errands, errands, an then I took Andy and his friend to see "Two Broth#rs." It was completely different from what I expected, based on the ads and the trailers. It is a lovely and thoughtful film. Like disn#y, it involves a dead/missing parent. Unlike disn#y, it made some subtle comments about the west's interference and corruption of life on the Asian continent. It also made some lovely visual analogies of the relationships between man and animals (besides the obvious ecological ones) and how they depended on each other to survive. I'd recommend it and I'd see it again, though it was very emotional. I wouldn't say it was unsuitable for young children, but we did alot of talking and explaining after the movie.

Today I work my fanny off, then try to get another spray tan, pick up spouse from his train and pack, pack, pack.

Today's highway furniture spotting: Drapery rod, throw pillow, part of a lamp.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!