Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:18 a.m. - 2004-07-16
Sometimes someone else gets the tomatoes
The sun is out! The sun is out! And it is FRIDAY! It had pretty much been murky all week - not even hitting the 80s - I thought it was July??? Did more yahd sale prep last night, found another bunch o'stuff - small bookcases, small tables, more toddler-era toys - plastic easel, gate for the stairs that was never, ever taken out of its box...I have to dig through the closet in the office which holds stuff that I don't even know about...probably things from before we were married - smaller sized clothes, wedding presents we didn't use, shoes with heels. Spouse did alot of furniture hauling - I'm such a poor wife, I make him lift heavy things and pretty much do most of the schlepping. I expect that people will arrive at 7a.m. tomorrow. I hate early bird yard sale people. We're only going until noon. Then everything that didn't sell (except for any furniture that we couldn't fit in the car) will get loaded into the trunks and driven to a charity a few towns away. Then we have to go to FILs birthday dinner. Spouse will sleep at his parents' tomorrow night so he can catch an early train into NYC to see the museum show he needs to see on Sunday, then he'll come back Monday mid-day to the city in which I work, take a cab to my office and we'll go home together. Did his selfish brother, with whom he is staying offer to pick him up or email him directions to his house by subway? No, of course not. Did this brother who used spouse as an excuse not to come to his own father's birthday dinner because they had to clean for spouse's visit offer to take him to dinner or meet him somewhere? Of course not. Know who I hate more than early bird yard sale people?

Sunday...what will Andy and I do Sunday? Go to church, go out to breakfast, pick up the dry cleaning, return the broken lanterns, get a camera, go to T@rget and get new underwear for everyone (Yah-thanks for sharing), and go to the movies. Oh yah, and clean the house and pack for a two week vacation.

I must speak about my tomatoes - we bought a container pot of tomatoes from Tr@der Joe's. They have been doing okay - the leaves keep turning yellow and drying up, but apparently there are enough leaves to produce enough chlorophyl to make five lovely tomatoes. One started turning red/orangish last week, so we may get to eat it early next week, but the last four are just starting to turn. They will ripen while we are away. Someone else is going to get those tomatoes.

When I came home from work yesterday, one of Andy's friends was over and they were playing on the computer. I asked Andy's friend how his mother had been feeling (she had bronchitis earlier in the week.) "Oh she's feeling better, Mrs. Pattypaty" he replied. "She's not coughing so much, but she still f#rts alot." I was shocked (and trying not to laugh) and said something along the lines of "That's not a nice thing to tell about someone" half smiling, half stern. He was a bit embarassed in that way that six year olds can be, but knew us well enough not to be totally stressed about it (and I would expect his mother to do the same to Andy.) A few minutes later told me how much he liked my dress. I thought it was sweet and odd. Even at six, the male of the species tries with the compliments.

I keep forgetting to note highway furniture. Most of this week, there hasn't been much. Last night there were two throw pillows and a lampshade. Back to work.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!