Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:01 p.m. - 2004-07-12
My brain is full
A billion things are in my head right now. Spouse and Andy had a fabulous time camping. Andy won a certificate in archery and bb gun shooting. Yay - archery! An Olympic sport! What colleges offer archery scholarships! Boo - bbs - He will never have a bb gun. He could put his eye out for pete's sake. I just find it so funny, because he has had experience with neither. He also did well in swimming and wildlife kinds of things. I met them Saturday afternoon for a farewell dinner, campfire and skits. It could have been better organized, but it was fun, and Andy was so pleased to get his awards.

Here is another thing in my mind. Can I just say that my in-laws pain me? Spouse is so kind to them, watches out for them, bails them out (figuratively speaking, they haven't been arrested..well only in their development...) and yet they so obviously favor the other brother and his wife. Who are not coming to FILs 70th birthday because they have important jobs and just back (a week before) from a vacation in Europe, and they couldn't leave the cat, and if spouse comes to their city to see a museum show, they'd have to clean their trendy apartment, blah, blah, blah. So the in laws are mad at spouse for making them clean the apartment. Do you find any sense in that? NO BECAUSE THERE IS NONE! They ignore the fact that the brother and SIL cannot be bothered to come to his father's 70th birthday. They focus on how to make their lame-ass excuse my husband's fault. I didn't sit still this time and said I thought it unfortunate that the SILs priority was to clean the house rather than enjoy the company of family. I just despise them, and it makes me so angry that the in-laws choose to blame spouse. I'm glad we won't be seeing them for awhile (after the birthday party.)

This is going to be a busy, busy week. Besides packing and getting ready for vacation - we have the yahd sale Saturday. I put the ad in the paper today. Spouse is getting posterboard for signs we'll put up Friday night.

Tomorrow is our 13th wedding anniversary. We're going to dinner at a restaurant in our town. I already have his gifts - a new sw@tch (we have been giving each other these watches on our anniversary for several years...); a new silk-blend sportcoat that he coveted from L@nds End; a brown leather casual belt; and an ornament of two flamingoes kissing. I know he got me some silver jewelry - probably a pin, because I saw the box from UPS and recognized the store. I don't wear much jewelry, but I do like pins and the occasional bracelet. I think he also got me a Sw@tch. But I don't know what else. He is such a sweetie.

I feel guilty, but I left him a list of stuff to do - nothing too strenuous, but since he isn't teaching this week, and Andy is at day camp three days this week, he should be able to handle it.

Wednesday night, the neighbor ladies are getting their toe-nails done - pedicures for everyone! Then we're off to Cr@cker B@rrel for dinner. Turnip Greens! YAY! (God I am so boring...)

Thursday is spray on tan night - then pricing for the yard sale, and Friday is getting everything ready for 7:30 a.m. Saturday morning. I hope the stuff moves. I believe the requisite 5 years has passed since our last yard sale, so the amnesia of the stupidity of it all has set in. We're only going until noon, then everything is off to another charity. I'll finally be able to park my car in the garage again.

Back to work. i'm prepping for a meeting on campus. I feel like I haven't produced any deliverables yet - I hope I have something done SOON! Instead of undoing the foolish mistakes of other people. Think vitamin, not bandaid.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!