Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:12 a.m. - 2004-07-08
Realizing and packing
You'd think that by the time I got this old, I would have outgrown cramps. Really. I am in my mid forties for pete's sake.

Yesterday, I felt relatively productive, but I came to a stark realization. I have spent the last three weeks here putting out small fires, and now that is what people think I do. I was sitting in a meeting with my immediate co-workers and my boss (who is most fabulous) and we were discussing the departure of an administrative support person and what our needs would be. The head of the administrative support people, a lovely young woman with whom I get along just fine thank you, indicated that she thought I'd never need much admin support since communications supports everyone else. It made me realize that I haven't been able to do anything pro-active yet. Granted, i've only been here a few weeks, but it crystallized what I was thinking. Because there are no procedures here, because there is no budget nor accountability for many people, we spend alot of time redoing work that has already been completed and deemed as "FINAL." Then people come back in and want to redesign, or rewrite, for no apparent reason other than that they can. Without repercussion. Don't I sound like a tight ass?

Anyway, I explained to the admin support person that indeed, I would be initiating my own projects and my boss was so happy he almost jumped out of his chair and beamed. So that's what I'll be doing. Soon!

Spouse and Andy are packed and on their way to scout camp for three days. I miss them already. They packed so much stuff! The camp gave us a list of what to bring for Andy, and that took up alot of space. Add to that - two sleeping bags, two pillows, two foam mats, two sets of towels, flashlights, many layers of clothing, bug stuff, bandaids, etc. I hope spouse finds a sherpa to help him lug stuff. I hope they have a good time!!! I'll go and meet them late Saturday afternoon for the "Family cook out and activities." Then we'll come back in two cars. I was supposed to do a "girlie" thing tomorrow night with my neighbor, but she has bailed. Her husband is heading back to Europe, so she actually WENT AWAY for a few days with him to the shore. Now I have no excuse not to clean the top floor tomorrow night. Oh well.

I am whitening my teeth again. Fake tan, fake white teeth (well they're really my teeth, just not really that white without chemical persuasion.) What's next?

Today's furniture spotting: One complete baby exersaucer. Looks like that virtual family room is shaping up!

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!