Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:05 a.m. - 2004-07-01
Pace, pace, pace..
Can I just say that I cannot wait to see the new pictures of Saturn?

I have also given myself another project - I am cataloging all the furniture I see by the side of the road. since I've started my new job, there is enough furniture to do a small family room. To date: (less than three weeks...) 1 green plastic adirondak chair. It was there for two days, I almost scooped it up myself. 1 orange and brown striped love seat - looked like the fabric/upholstery was in good condition, however it definitely tumbled off a truck, as it was missing the arm - that was in the media strip; 1 multi-colored plastic chest of drawers - like for a kids room. Two TV trays - different styles, different locations. Today's find was a small area rug - looked like it was green. What's going on? I don't remember furniture on my other commutes.

Here's another thing I've realized. I have to pace myself. Last month, I cranked out a bunch of scrapbooks for my mother, chronicling the lives of her grand kids and kids for two and a half years. Then I lost my steam. I don't feel like doing scrapbooking right now. I didn't think much of it, except that for the last two weeks I've been Martha Stew@rt in the kitchen, and last night I hit the wall. I did not want to cook. So we went out and had mediocre Italian. Have I already expressed my opinion about Italian food? You only love the sauce that a relative has made for you since you were a kid, or that you make. Everything else pales in comparison. Same with meatballs. I like mine (and I liked my grandparents' when they were alive) the best.

Today I go up to campus to meet with my counterparts at the university. I am hoping they will share resources like access to media databases and clipping services. I fretted about what to wear, because in this office everyone just dresses like they were going to school - clean, but nothing especially stylish. There are a few people here who accessorize well. I am NOT a fashion maven. I am all about comfort. I will avoid panty hose whenever possible. I rarely wear shoes that have more than a 1 inch heel. I like things with POCKETS. I just am aware of how people create impressions about you based on your clothing. So I am wearing a gold, black, maroon paisley silk blouse and black trousers. Black open toed shoes, no hose. Fake gold anchor link chain, gold earrings. It is hot today so I didn't want to wear a suit or hosiery.

Okay, I'm rambling. Time to go to a meeting

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!