Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:15 a.m. - 2004-06-29
It's all about balance isn't it?
Andy did great on his first day of his summer camp. He'll go three days a week, and spouse will have him the other two. Andy made two new friends and found two boys from last summer to hang out with. I do not know the antics of these new boys, but I am worried that he chooses kids who like to boss him around. He doesn't let us boss him around, so I wonder why he chooses friends like that. They can be unkind (or he interprets their actions as unkind.) We've tried to give him some coping tools - oh don't I sound like I read parenting magazines??? like telling him to tell the boys that he doesn't allow others to treat him unfairly, and to walk away. How do I balance this with giving him the tools to stand up for himself? I think he does this. But I also think he needs to find kids who are kinder. Are there any?

Last night we had leftover crab. Can I say I am getting tired of crab? Poor spouse has had it for two dinners and a lunch. Tonight we are finishing the crab, and I am making panfried crab and corn cakes. I'll serve them on fresh greens. Should be fairly healthy. What will Andy eat? I chuckled at %plain Jane%'s reference to her son and his eating habits. I swore that I would never be the kind of mother that would cook two different meals. "He'll eat what we eat." But when he was little, he didn't like to eat, and was diagnosed as failure to thrive, and the doctors said give him whatever he'll eat, so we've established some bad patterns. I have a rule that he has to try one bite of something before he says he doesn't like it. The thing is, he makes himself gag before it even hits his mouth. My son does not like: fruit, ice cream, peas, salad, mayonnaise on his sandwiches, jelly and many other things. He would live on cheez-its and water if I allowed him. Oh yah, and macanoni and cheese. That's what I promised him for dinner tonight. He always has to have a fruit or veggie with his meal, and he has to have at least two glasses of milk a day (always chocolate, never plain.) I am a bad mother.

I am starting vacation lists - I love lists. Since this is a clothes intensive vacation, I have to make lists of what gets packed. We've finally cleared the guest room of all of Andy's stuff, which we moved there when we painted, papered his room (no the border is still not complete...bad mom, bad mom.) Anyway, now we can start setting up the suitcases and begin packing next weekend.

Oh wait - I have to pack Andy and spouse for their cub scout camping weekend next week - Thursday through Sunday...my oh my.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!