Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:47 a.m. - 2004-06-28
The politics of Monday
Monday, monday, monday, monday...In some ways, Monday is such a great, new beginning. For instance, today I brought in my cocoa mug and my pencil mug. I am feeling more established already. I have my forms to fill out for insurance, retirement, dental. I have a list of things to accomplish today at work, and a list of things I want to do tonight when I get home. Monday establishes some of the possibilities for the week. It is clean, it is still orderly, but it is also full of sleep from the weekend.

Weekend? We have a garage full of stuff (mostly Andy's) that he is now willing to part with. Most of it is expensive stuff - he is giving away the two big Christmas gifts from his grandmothers - a rescu$ hero robot and a humm$r car play set. The Robot was about $75 new; the other about $40. He is also giving away his big gift from last year - a kind of robot/computer thing that has games. We have at least four other boxes of toys that he has said he wants to go to the yard sale. I am torn about keeping his toys so that he can pass them on, or worrying that he'll change his mind, but the latter is livable. And he'll learn. Spouse and I are also contributing things, and the house is contributing spare furniture - why do we have four coffee tables from my in laws? I hate all of them (tables.) They have been down in the basement. We also have a triple dresser that came from the second hand set we bought from friends for Andy.

I've been thinking for the past six or seven months about buying a digital camera. I've been researching, asking, and looking, and my goal was to buy one with my first paycheck once I started working again. Well payday is this week (though it is only once a month - wah) and I have to say, I am waffling. I've see the pics from a digital camera, and they still just don't have the quality of a decent 35 mm. I'm not a great photographer, I don't know nothing bout no f-stops, but I get some pretty decent shots for what I use them for. So I think I'm just going to buy a regular old camera since I've been mooching spouse's which I bought for him for our anniversary three years ago.

Well whoda thunk that the us would turn over its control two days early? Who really has the power? My suggestion is to follow the money. Whoever is making it is really in control. Nope, haven't seen Michael Moore'$ new movie yet.

Made a really great dinner for the in-laws - crab strogonoff in a puff pastry shell - very easy, very tasty, very loaded with fat and carbs, but it was delish. Also made roasted eggplant slices with mozzarella, yellow tomatoes and fresh basil; home-made gaspacho and a key lime cheescake with fresh berries. Tonight is leftover city, and I still have enough crab for tomorrow's dinner - maybe cold crab salad in avocado shells. That used to be pretty trendy. Less than a month until vacation!!!

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!