Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:58 a.m. - 2004-05-24
Olive you too.
The last two nights we have had severe thunderstorms - like horror movie thunderstorms. My brave, funny Andy is terrified of thunderstorms, even during the day time, so I was surprised when - in the middle of the night - I feel this little hand touch my elbow and he asked to come and sleep with us. Even when he was an infant, he NEVER really liked to sleep with us (when he started talking, he claimed it was because we SNORE, and we do.) He would want to go back to his own crib or bed after about 10 or 15 minutes, but this time he slept the whole rest of the night. On my side of the bed, on top of me, as I clung to the little piece of fabric that edges the mattress. He slept so soundly, it was kind of a treat, and he cuddled. He thanked us in the morning for letting him have someone to squish. The storms came again last night, so this time I went down to his room, and after about 15 minutes he was asleep in his own bed, and I got to go back to mine! But it was very sweet. In so many ways I've lost that little baby, and I've been having major baby list for the last few months, but this weekend he gave me a little piece of that, and it was delicious.

Saw Shrek 2 with him on Saturday while spouse was had to go to his university's commencement, it was amusing. Antoni0 B@nderas might be added to the list of men for whom I'd leave spouse. (There are only three on the list right now.)

We had dinner with two of spouse's colleagues on Friday. They were a half-hour late, so we ate the olives in the little bowl on the table while we waited for them. If I wasn't so thankful for the help they've given spouse, I would have licked the remaining olives in the bowl and left them there for them to eat. Isn't that mean of me? If I ever write a book or a screenplay (yah, right) I would include that scene. As it was, I left with a pocketful of olive pits since I felt guilty that we had eaten so many of them, and hid the evidence.

Andy got to play with lots of his friends this weekend, we saw the in-laws yesterday. Oh yah, while we were waiting for the tardy colleagues, a guy came up to me and asked to take my order. He clearly was NOT one of the servers at the restaurant, and I vaguely recognized him. He was in my dorm junior year. He was very sweet and shy, and hung out with our group. I couldn't believe he recognized me 25 years later. I don't think I look the same at all, and I am considerably heavier, but he said my face was exactly the same. What a nice ego boost!

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!