Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:30 a.m. - 2004-05-17
Weekend and five more
It is wierd to be in the house by myself. Spouse has been off for almost two weeks between the end of term and the summerschool term. My parents were visiting for over a week, and today is the first day in a long, long time (it seems) since I've been by myself in the house. It is quiet and wierd. I miss knowing someone else is breathing several rooms away.

Busy weekend, all about Andy. Friday night, cub scouts - cross over, so now he is a different kind of cub. Wolf I think. Also, we had to write out another $200 plus in checks for various summer activities, etc. etc.

Saturday, den meeting at the police station for a "look and see." While all the first grade boys were there, they brought in a domestic abuse couple. She had broken bones and a mashed face, he was arrogant and likely drunk. At 10 a.m. But I'm no tjudgmental.

In fact, I've been thinking about how judgmental I can be lately. (I'm always judgmental, I've just been thinking about it lately.) Is this job drought a way to make me appreciate the frailty in others? Is it payback for the times I wasn't kind to people who may have needed help? I have to think about this some more.

Saturday afternoon - errands, then Mexican food for dinner which made spouse ill. I can't wait for that colonoscopy to be over! Sunday I brought Andy to his CCD class and "taught" for two hours after mass. Actually, the first graders are home-schooled for CCD, but for second grade, they go to class. This one class was to grade the books we've been doing all year and to let them color in a workbook. The room was hot and stuffy. The kids were done in about a half hour, which left another hour and a half to keep them busy. We worked on prayers. We did a 7th inning stretch. We spelled religious words. The "office volunteers" were snarky. (See? I'm being judgmental and unkind.) But it seems to me they could have been a bit more forthcoming with information and a bit more pleasant to the other parents who volunteered.

Sunday afternoon the in-laws came for dinner. I was going to grill since the weather said "sunny and dry" but it drizzled all day, so I did oven roasted veggies - zucchini, summer squash, peppers and onions with Asian spices; and chicken marinated in oyster sauce, ginger and garlic. Served with rice-a-r0ni terayaki rice and a salad; key lime cheesecake and fresh blackberries. YUM!

Today I got a nice surprise - A friend/neighbor dropped by with a copy of "Hey Ya" and some other songs on a CD he burned for me. He DJs part time (His name is Bob, but he isn't Uncle Bob.) and he remembered I said I loved that song (yah, I know there are some nasty lyrics, but the music and rhythm is just so fabulous.) Anyway, I wouldn't let myself buy the CD until I got a job, and so he burned a copy from a disc that someone left behind at a wedding he DJd this weekend. Unexpected kindnesses. Another lesson.

I'm pondering two questions. When did the prom become "prom." Just prom. The first reference I heard was in a m0lly Ringw@ld movie many years ago, and now, because it is prom season, I hear everyone talking about going to prom. When did this happen? Why did this happen?

Here is my other question. Why are my parents telling me how tired they are? They are both in their late 60s, relatively healthy, my mother walks 3 miles (usually a day.) She works out once or twice a week. They take vitamins. My mother eats a relatively healthy diet. My father eats everything, expecially food that is beige. He has gotten heavy. But they keep telling me how tired they are. They nap. They get alot of sleep. They don't work outside the home as they are both retired. I thought you needed LESS sleep when you get older. Are they sick? Depressed? Truly sleep deprived? What gives? Because it is pissing the hell out of me (more judgment.)

More things I know about myself

1. Besides that I am judgmental.

2. I can keep track of alot of things at once in my brain.

3. I don't like to be hot. (I am really going to enjoy menopause...)

4. I am a fabulous cook.

5. I have too much stuff in my house still.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!