Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:31 a.m. - 2004-05-13
Thursday
My parents are getting ready to fly home. Andy was so upset he started to cry before he left for school. "But you won't be here when I get back?" He is consoled that we will see them again in July when we go on vacation. I used to think I would feel less sad about my parents leaving after I had kids. Now I feel his sadness too. You know, because I just can't be happy with my own sadness...

We had lobstahs last night - first (for us) of the season. Smallish, but tasty. Andy ate eight claws and half a tail. (We have this little deal going - he likes claw meat, I like the tail meat. I give him all of my claws in exchange for his tail. Such a team!

I love and hate May. I am enjoying the spring and more light, but I am such a tv junkie, that I hate the end of the tv season. I will miss the idea of Frasier, although we didn't watch for a few years. I watched the Dick Van Dyke special (am I the only one who found Mary Tyler Moore too shrill?) And we watched the Carol Burnett special last night. It was not satisfying. Now I have to reshuffle and figure out what to watch for the summer. (Colonial House, Monk and Six Feet Under. YAY!)

Sent off the materials for the interview tomorrow. If I say I feel prepared, will that jinx me?

And I must put down my secrets to life:

1. East less exercize more. It doesn't matter whether it is carbs, calories, or fat. Stop whining. (okay, then why am I fat?)

2. Under promise, over deliver. You want things to work out? Don't say you can do something if you can't or won't. It will just piss people off and make you feel like a failure, despite the best of intentions.

3. I don't think anyone does anything intentionally mean. I just think they put their own needs before others and find a really good way to justify it.

4. Recycle.

5. No child ever said "I had a really happy childhood because my house was so clean."

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!