Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:41 a.m. - 2004-03-01
Who's sick?
Jobs applied to on the patometer (with apologies to Marn...) 43. Forty Three Jobs. One Interview to date. Out of work: six weeks tomorrow. Can you tell I'm wallowing?

Had my work plan all set for today - then Andy's school called (he had complained of a tummy ache at breakfast.) "Andrew says he has a stomach ache and a sore throat. And he has a fever of 99.3." It wasn't even 9 a.m. I went to get him. Took his temp at home. 97.6 Do I have a faulty thermometer? Do I have an anxious child? I told him to get up to bed, make himself comfortable and I brought him some ice water (my cure for everything.) He has been fine all morning. Wants me to play with him. Is chasing a fake hamburger around the kitchen like a hockey puck. I told him it was rest and bedtime today. No special meals. No special tv shows. Am I a cruel mother? He keeps trying to get me to play with him in his toy kitchen which we set up in the living room. I told him I had to work, and I'm about to make him some chicken soup. This weekend we ran errands. I did a fairly large grocery shop which I haven't actually done since I got laid off. I've been afraid, but we ran out of lots of things we couldn't do without. Saw the in-laws yesterday. They are crochety. My jaw has been aching enough for me to have my hypochondria kick in. Now that there are so many articles on women's heart disease, I can't let nausea just be nausea; or an aching jaw just be stress. I may have to stop reading magazines.

Watched the academy awards, some good chuckles, pretty dresses. Sick of Lord o'the rings. I thought the director/producer was going to have a coronary during the ceremonies. That's it for now, toast bell and soup timer just went off.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!