Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:47 p.m. - 2004-02-27
Tissue-thin lies
WAH!! Can't believe Hatch is off. I hated him the first time around, but loved him this time around - he obviously didn't take it as seriously as everyone else, though he played the game seriously. I missed the whole thing between him and Susan (who is such an antagonistic wench and has hated him from the beginning) on the flag course. I'm just saying.

We had a little parental crisis last night - as we were tucking Andy in, I noticed the special Rugrats box of tissues we bought him - that he had begged for, was disassembled in his bed. (not a problem really, he's six and probably wanted to what else was on the inside of the box magically popping up all those tissues...) Anyway, I asked him how that happened, and he looked at me and then quickly away and said "Uh...I don't know?" So I knew he had done it. So I asked him again - "Did you take the box apart?" and he said "Maybe it came apart when I was asleep," and looked away again. Yah - It magically disassembled itself, neatly stacked the tissues and made itself flat in your sleep. "Are you sure?" And then he burst into tears. I don't care about the damned tissues. I am upset that he lied to us because he knows that I wouldn't have cared about the tissues. So much sobbing ensued. We were calm, but I told him how sad it made me that he would tell us a lie, and that was much more serious than taking the tissues apart. He cried some more, but I hope we handled it okay. He's only told us one or two other lies, and one of them was when he was three and he got a major time out. We don't hit, we don't yell at him. In fact if he (or anyone else for that matter, except my spouse or my sister) makes me angry, I speak very, very softly. Works wonders.

This weekend we're hosting the monthly grown up night again. I don't mind. Chinese take out. What to serve for hors d'oeuvres??

That's about it. Except can I just say that I am sick of soaps?

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!