Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:23 p.m. - 2004-02-23
MONDAY
My fingers are still pruned. We had a great time at the "pool hotel" with Andy, spouse, cousins, sibling and sibling-in-law. The pool made two-foot waves and had two giant slides. Andy loved the water and the waves, but still won't do the slides (nor would I for that matter...)Andy's cousins were fun, then annoying, then sweet, then annoying. They have absolutely no consistent parenting. They know they can whine and whinge and eventually get what they want. The older is still hitting everyone who displeases him. His mother, the SIL, either ignores it or spends a half-hour explaining to him that we cannot hit, but of course there are no consequences and for that brief time cousin has hism other's undivided attention. It is sad and painful because sometimes we just don't want to be with them. And we love them.

But otherwise, fun and dampness was had by all. Crappy sleeping however, spouse and I opted for the cheapest room (two double beds) so while he and I clung to the matress cord around the edges of our tiny bed, Andy was sprawled out in his own bed. I didn't have the heart to move him to his sleeping bag on the floor.

Am I satisfied with the ending of Sex in the City? Pretty much, although they all ended up with men (which is perfectly fine.) OOOH, just got a craving for coconuts.

Anyway. Today and tomorrow I spend doing the job hut thang and preparing for THE INTERVIEW. I've researched (as much as I can without subscribing to an other online service) the people I'll be interviewing with. I've googled everyone and talked to as many people as I know who have a connection with this other university. Anything else to do? I'm making a list of my strengths and weaknesses. I'm making a list of 10 "professional anecdotes" - situations where I triumphed, blah, blah, blah. GIVE ME A FREAKIN' JOB!

Spouse has to teach tonight, so I may have to play with my new makeup tonight. Pray for me.

On the way home from the part of my state that is named after a large white fish, Andy had a million questions about gallbladders, mardi-gras, grades of gasoline, why his cousins cry so much, telephone wires, and what he was going to eat for dinner. I answered as much as I could. He still has more things he wants to ask about today. He told me before he fell asleep last night.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!