Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:15 p.m. - 2011-11-09
-

Here are some things:

Somehow this weekend, I got sucked into watching the 1959 movie "The Nun's Story" with Audrey Hepburn. I must have seen it as a kid, because I vividly remember two scenes.

Yes, I am a Catholic. And NO, I don't abide everything the Catholic Church professes. Anyway, I was surprised by how much of a feminist movie it actually was. I was glad I got to see it, though I chastised myself for not doing more housecleaning, so the guilt was very Catholic at least.

I've been getting some Christmas gifts done/purchased/ordered. In my perfect life, I will get alot of that wrapped this weekend, though in reality, I will end up visiting the in-laws, going to Church in the afternoon, and then getting sucked into a movie in the afternoon.

Here are things I do not need to hear about anymore:

1. Anything Kardashian related.
2. The guilt/innocence of Herman Cain
3. The guilt/innocence of Dr. Conrad
4. The asteroid.

Last week, Andy had auditions for district jazz band. I'd been nagging him for several weeks about the audition date, the audition piece, blah, blah, blah. So of course, the night before he realized the audition was coming up, and he'd not received the music (nor had he actually asked the director about it.) SO - we found the piece we thought it was and he practiced it for a bit, we drove him to the audition the next day, and he tried out. He also discovered that he'd rehearsed the WRONG piece of music, so the judges gave him the actual piece to site read.

Can you guess what happened?

He heard today that he scored the highest in his grade and instrument in the district, and he got in the jazz band.

The cheering mother says WOO HOO! Way to go Andy! The doubting mother says - please, please, please don't make this a habit of winging it - mostly because I too have a habit of winging it, and doing okay, which just generates more panic.

Not cooking dinner tonight because Andy has wind ensemble practice and spouse and I had pizza for lunch along with a giant salad.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!