Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:37 p.m. - 2011-07-19
Another vacation please - this time with room service

Didja miss me? We had a good time, especially since there were 14 of us and only one shower (thank HEAVENS there were two toilets!)

I spent alot of time on the porch reading - The Help, The Geurnsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and I've just started Townie. My friend send me a bunch of books by Andres Dubus for summer reading.

We ate alot of clams and some lobster. My brother and SIL had a crisis (a house they wanted to buy fell through because the owner wouldn't sign papers.) My sister had a tense couple of days with my mother, but felt better after we had an appreciation day for her. I was glad I brought the extra stuff I did (chairs, pillows, linens, etc.) But all in all it was a good time. We went on a whale watch one day and saw alot of humpbacks breaching and fluking. We spent the day at my sil's family's beach shack, and the cousins all had a fabulous time with each other (mostly.) They are old enough not to need as much entertaining, and spent alot of time at the beach arcade. Andy even played guitar at the laundromat. Someone put a quarter in his cup.

My sister came back with us and left this morning. I miss her so much already! My sister's daughter loves me again. I am a cool Auntie.

We saw them off at 5:30 this morning. She called around 1 and told us she was in her car and on the way home from the airport.

On Sunday, my aunt and uncle came and brought a BBQ feast. Quite tasty.

Yesterday, my brother surprised us and met us half-way between his house and our hosue for dinner last night. IT was good to see almost everyone again.

Today is pretty quiet. Spouse and I did some picking up, groceries and errands. Tonight is leftover BBQ.

Our neighbors are cutting down at least 10 giant pine trees and I am sad.

Got my knee shot yesterday. I don't expect to feel much relief until the third shot, which will be in early August. The hip pain is not going away, so I'm kind of bummed about that.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!