Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:00 p.m. - 2011-06-22
Dollars for doughnuts

Andy is officially done with eighth grade. The promotion ceremony was fun - many of us older mothers commented on the clothing worn by some of the girls.

Andy looked fine - khaki pants and a blue striped polo shirt. Some of the boys wore jackets and ties, some just work shirts and ties, but most of them wore polo shirts.

It is a good thing I keep a journal, because half the time I can't remember what I did yesterday.

After the ceremony, some of the parents came over and we had pizza and salad. The kids were ready to be picked up from the dance at 9:30.

I expected to cry a little, but I didn't. Mostly I can't believe how grown-up everyone has become. I saw so many of my little baby-faced former cub scouts who are now nearly 6 feet tall.

This morning I had coffee with my former co-den leader. It just happened to work out that we were both available to meet today and it was a nice visit. She is such a sweet and gentle soul.

Scrambled to find spouse and Andy a hotel room in Philadelphia for Saturday night because the people they were staying with are not around this particular weekend.

Any suggestions as to what they might go and see besides the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall?

Andy insists on eating at least one cheese steak sandwich.

This morning we were up and out early because we had to bring in two dozen doughnuts for the eight-grade breakfast.

Just spoke to my parents. My father's melanoma is gone - he got clean margins, so that is a wonderful thing.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!