Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:12 a.m. - 2011-05-02
Nice, but not mellow

Did I really delude myself into thinking that this weekend was going to be mellow? It was fun and fine, but busy. Friday night I worked later than I expected, picked up spouse, picked up the pizza, came home, hung out with Andy for a bit, realized that his white shirt no longer fit him, and he needed one for 7:45 a.m. the next day. Fortunately my neighborfriend's son had one we could borrow. Washed and ironed it, not without a scornful look or two at Andy who had promised that he'd tried on the shirt earlier in the week and that it was just fine.

That crisis was resolved. Got up early Saturday, made Andy's lunch, then got him to the bus by 7:40 and waited for the bus to leave. By that time my neighborfriend called to see if we wanted to have dinner that night. YAY! A plan!

Another friend stopped in the parking lot while we were waiting for the bus and asked if we wanted to do dinner, but I told her we'd already made plans. Brought home some breakfast sandwiches for spouse and commenced on the festival of laundry. A third neighbor called to see if we wanted to go to dinner. How did we get so social? We go for weeks without having any plans, and three in one day!

Headed out to the concert around 2. I have to say I was BLOWN AWAY by the band, and the choral performance before it. They were both amazing.

Andy was good, but there was another sax player who was incredible. I think it was good for Andy to have someone who actually sounded better than him - it kind of challenged him.

He looked so nice in his white shirt and tie. He got a haircut on Friday.

Came home after the concert, changed out clothes and then met our neighborfriends for dinner at Outback. It was good but not great. Steaks were overcooked, so the manager gave us free desserts.

Came home, and I can't even remember what I did??? Andy played Manhunt in the neighborhood with a bunch of other kids.

Sunday morning, up early again - Andy and I went to church, then stopped at the grocery store to see if there were any big lobsters. There weren't. So I got the fixings for pasta with clam sauce and came home. Spouse and Andy got sandwiches when they went out to get Andy new sneakers. I stayed home and paid the bills, clipped the coupons, did the Mother's Day cards, etc.

I decided I wanted to get everything in the mail that day, so I headed out, stopped at my neighborfriend's house and she came with me. She asked to see the scene of the fire two weeks ago, and while we drove there, we found another road we'd not seen. Drove up the road and found this stone castle not a quarter of a mile from my office. There was a realtor's open house, so we went in and took a tour - really interesting. The house, which is partially built into a rock outcropping, was constructed in the 1920s. I just find it so strange that after nearly two decades of living here, there is a house so close that I never even knew existed. Oh well.

Dropped off some pants to the tailor, stopped for an iced tea and dropped of my neighbor before coming home to do the cooking.

It turned out well, but after dinner, Andy got sick. I'm wondering if he got food poisoning from the sandwich he ate earlier in the day, or the pizza he'd eaten at the concert on Saturday. I felt so bad for him.

He finished up his homework and went to bed, and said he didn't feel up to going to school today, so he's home in bed. Poor muffin.

Spouse and I were just about to fall asleep when we heard that there would be an announcement from the White House last night. The first thing I thought of was that the President was going to announce that they had found bin Laden. Spouse disagreed, but we just kept watching.

My parents still haven't booked their tickets to come up next week. Ahem.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!