Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:36 p.m. - 2011-04-07
Not bankrupt

Yesterday was a day of crappiness. As much as I was pleased and proud that I stood up, I was peeved that the person I stood up to had to pick away at something else Of. No. Consequence.
It was also something overwhich I had no control. But of course, it is my fault, so I have to be brought down a notch or two.

But enough. It is finally a beautiful spring day out - I see crocuses, lots of buds getting ready to pop into leaves, and it is almost the weekend!

Tuesday night Andy enjoyed his birthday dinner at a little Chinese restaurant at the center of town. He's been going there since he was an infant, gradually working his way up from rice to Peking dumplings (inside only) to a Pu Pu platter for two (which he consumes himself) alongside his own order of dumplings and whatever he wants to scavange off his father's or my plate. They gave him a giant Shirley Temple in honor of his birthday and showed him the high chair he used to sit in. I should have taken a picture!

Last night we had a business event at work and I heard a really good presentation about Social Security and how it is not going bankrupt.

People! Social Security is not going bankrupt! Even if no changes are made, it will be fully solvent giving FULL Benefits to all eligible until 2039; and then about 80% benefits through the end of the century.

But...if small changes are made (increasing the cap salary gradually from $106,000 to maybe $115,000; and taxing income of retirees who make more than $250,000 in income each year, then it could avoid the 20% shortfall. Less than 6% of American workers earn more than %106,000.

Anyway...Came home last night, watched Extreme Couponing which again, just made me annoyed. Why would anyone need 150 sticks of deoderant or 85 bottles of mustard? I know it doesn't spoil, but really?

Tonight I am seeing a college production of "The Producers" with some mommy friends and having dinner here on camopus. Should be home around 10-ish. Spouse took Andy to his wind ensemble rehearsal last night. It was great not to have to sit in the parking lot for two hours.

Tomorrow - I'm getting my hair cut and colored. HOOOORAY!

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!