Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:09 a.m. - 2011-02-24
Endings

My neighborfriend's father passed away yesterday. She called me at work, asked how I was doing, I asked her how she was doing, she said she was fine, said she had a bit of a stomach bug, and then said..."I wanted to tell you that my Dad died this morning..."

Thunk.

I feel so sad for her, but she said she was prepared. I will have to take lessons in that I think. She called again and asked which funeral home I'd recommend, so I asked around campus and gave her a recommendation. At lunch, spouse, Andy and I stopped and picked up some roasted chickens, salad, bread and a pound cake and dropped them off. I figured she'd have family coming in for tomorrow's service.

They are having a brief service - 11 to noon tomorrow, then a prayer at noon. I have my oncology appointments tomorrow morning, and spouse and I were going to go out to lunch after and hit a fabulous stationery store that is going out of business after 75 years. But instead, spouse and Andy will go to the calling hours, and I hope to make it back by noon.

I feel so sad for my neighbor, but I have to say, it isn't like the old sad, where I'd weave it in between my cells and feel awful to the point where my fingertips ached. Gotta credit the Celexa for that.

Lots of stuff at work. Spouse is working tonight, so I'll pick him up after work, bring him to the dining hall and then we're going to see a student production of "The Odd Couple." There are both male and female versions, and I'm not sure which one I'm getting. It will be a surprise.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!