Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:35 a.m. - 2011-02-07
Make the list shorter

Here is what I did this weekend: Not much.

I always start out the weekends with such high hopes of reorganizing the entire house, having it sparkling clean and creating a scrapbook in the process, and cooking delicious gourmet meals.

Instead, we heard Friday that Andy's auditions were being postponed until Sunday, so when I got home from work Friday night at 10:30 p.m., I turned off the alarm.

Friday night was really interesting - the dancers were good, there were two pieces that were GREAT!. We got some media coverage, but no television.

So Saturday morning we all slept in. It was very disorienting for me, since our Saturdays are always so scheduled. But it was nice. I got up around 9 because my Flora Dora SIL called and we had such a fun conversation! It made me smile all day. So I got up and got some wash on, read the papers (three days worth) and we caled our neighbors to see if they wanted to go to brunch with us at Cracker Barrel. We all met up, had a great time, and then went back to the world of laundry and errands. Andy had a birthday party, so we picked up subs for dinner, spouse and I dropped him off at the party at 7, and then spouse and I had an exciting date of subs and junky tee vee and laundry folding. The romance is still there!

The party went until 9 (bowling), and so we headed out to pick Andy up and came home. I ot hooked into something on the teevee, but I can't remember what it was, though somehow, spouse and I were still awake when SNL came on, and I was glad we got to see it. Just like old times...we split a beer and some pretzels while we watched the first section up until Linkin Park. I miss Dana Carvey, but I thought the Church Lady segment went on too long, even with the Justin Beiber twist.

Sunday, we were up early, did Church at 7, picked up another kid and him and Andy to the audition bus at 8:30, where we then proceeded to wait for 40 minutes for two clarinetists who were exceedingly late. That pisses me off.

Came home, brought spouse a coffee, and read the papers. I got to talk to my other neighborfriend whose father has been in the hospital since November. He seems somewhat stabilized, so we made a plan to go to the craft store and I got some scrapbook stickers. It was so great to talk to her and hang out a bit.

Came home and put on our superbowl food - I made ribs for dinner, home made cole slaw and corn bread. I also made salsa and guacamole for pre-game snacks. It was really good! There are no leftovers except for cornbread.

There is alot of melting going on. Knock wood, the attic and basement are okay for now.

So, do I give myself permission to have not scrubbed my house from top to bottom over the weekend? Do I just set myself up for disappointment or disapproval? That's what I'm thinking.

and for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!