Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:12 a.m. - 2011-01-28
Flakey day

Well YESTERDAY sure was a surprise. I mean, I knew it was going to snow, and that we'd get a sizable amount, but I didn't expect them to cancel school. At most, I thought we'd have a delayed opening. But I got the call at 5 a.m. to put stuff on the internal site and the website. Then Andy's school called on its automated system. We were hopeful that spouse's school would at least delay opening, but no such luck, so he trudged in, found some parking and finished his day. Andy and I got up around 9:30, and Andy went to work digging out the steps. Our plow-guy came through, but really didn't do too much (and really, there was So Much Snow!), but at least we'd be about to maneuver out of the driveway. Andy hacked away at some of the piles preventing us from pulling back into the garage, and I bribed him with lunch. We went to a Chinese place that also had sushi. Very tasty. By the time the snow stopped we'd gotten another 13 inches.

I felt guilty being able to drive-around, and not having to be at work, but it was nice to have some time anyway. I noticed that I spent a good deal of inner energy chiding myself for not being more productive with the time. Why can't I just enjoy it? Why can't I allow myself to just relax? Always this inner dialog of guilt and mayhem.

Anyway, I came home, did some laundry, picked up, made dinner, and went to Dream Dinners to make some more stuff with my neighborfriend. Came home and went to sleep.

Andy is going to a Karate event/movie at his school, so spouse and I will be on our own. What to do???

Tomorrow is a crazybusy day - lessons, drive to see our friend about an hour away, take her to lunch, come home, go to church, take our other friend to dinner and then to a symphony concert. But then we'll have Sunday to ourselves. WOO HOO!

It was so nice to hang out with Andy yesterday. He is very funny and we make each other laugh.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!